Wanted: FALL

13 Oct

Evidently Mother Nature decided Fall didn’t need to make an appearance this year despite my compelling Top Ten List, because for the past week we’ve had the heat on, huddled under blankets, and enjoyed a warm glass of tea before retreating to the warmth and coziness of our beds. Why? Because the outside air feels like the temperature of an iceberg.  

We’ve also been covered in a constant shade of gray thanks to the lovely clouds above. Don’t get me wrong, I do love my rain but after awhile it can indeed get to be too much. Especially when we’ve already had four more inches than is normal for this time of year and when you have to go to work each day rather than stay home and cuddle in bed with an endless supply of books and movies.

So, while I enjoy pulling out my boots and select fall styles, I’m not ready for my winter coat. Or frost on my car. Or seeing my breath when I’m outside.

Dear Mother Nature, if you’re reading this, please, bring back fall! Just give us a few days of it to ease us into this really cold-need-a-scarf-where-are-my-warm-socks-I need-a-hat-and big-freakin’-coat weather. I’d appreciate it greatly.

17 Responses to “Wanted: FALL”

  1. Kyla Roma October 13, 2009 at 2:05 pm #

    Would it be obnoxious to open with: I KNOW, RIGHT??

    Because I’m with you on this!! It dumped 5 inches of snow on us this weekend and the leaves were still green! I need for us to experience fall as a season, not as a concept or something I imagine from years gone by.

    Four season. Four. Get on it, earth.

  2. Little Fish October 13, 2009 at 2:52 pm #

    It’s been cold here too. I. HATE. IT.

  3. andhari October 13, 2009 at 3:00 pm #

    Maybe we should switch place? I need the rain pretty bad.

  4. Chelsea Talks Smack October 13, 2009 at 3:04 pm #

    I LOVE THE RAIN but i’m not digging the impending snow

  5. Megan/SomewhatVoluble October 13, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    It’s been fairly cold here, too. We JUST got our heat turned on today, though. We should have had it turned on last week (it was cold!), but we’re procrastinators.

  6. Habbala October 13, 2009 at 3:26 pm #

    I was going to say OMG I love the rain, but today is the first day it’s rained really…. check back in a couple of days and I might be over it too. :)

  7. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 13, 2009 at 5:13 pm #

    I hear ya, girl! It seems like this cold streak is hitting everywhere and I am NOT enjoying it. September was beautiful here, October… not so much! It’s COLD!

  8. Jamie October 13, 2009 at 7:07 pm #

    I want fall too. It’s way too cold :(

  9. Amanda October 13, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    It’s raining SO HARD here today. I guess our lovely Indian Summer is over :(

  10. Erin October 13, 2009 at 7:29 pm #

    We always get screwed on Fall in the midwest! It’s like we get two days of it and move right on into winter!

  11. Jessica October 13, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    Yeah this weather needs to balance out because I’m NOT ready to go from summer to winter. NO I want fall so I can wear my jackets.

  12. mandy October 13, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

    I love me some fall. I also heard the forecaster predict frost in the morning. I’m not cool with waking up to frost on my windshield.

  13. ria October 14, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    agreed! first summer never fully got here and fall just rushed in and out! what’s up mother nature?!

  14. SoMi's Nilsa October 14, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

    I could’ve written this post word for word. Is there room for a second signature on that letter to mother nature?

  15. Lacey Bean October 14, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

    I wish it would make up its mind here if it wants to be fall, winter, or summer.

    AND – I gave you an award! http://perksofbeingajap.blogspot.com/2009/10/over-top.html

  16. Little Miss Obsessive October 14, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    I hear ya!!! It has been FREEZING in NJ lately.. this is not Fall weather.. not October weather, it’s like December here, wtf!? I even had to defrost the windows this morning. :(

  17. Lisa D October 14, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    Yep, we got about 3″ of snow this week. Ridic. Pisses me off. I just want to crawl back into bed when it is like this!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

