The Weekend that Was…

16 Nov

The weekend was dressing up and going to listen to my dad’s band play. It was trying new appetizers. It was avoiding alcoholic drinks because of my antibiotics. It was laughing with a friend I haven’t seen in a long time. It was trying to guess if that guy was single, or maybe that one?  It was moments of loneliness that showed up at the oddest of times, like in a crowded bar or around my family. It was being an adult in ending the night early, giving into sleep.

The weekend was spending an hour in a used bookstore, scouring the books with Darling. It was spending $30 on books and adding six more to my TBR stack. It was enjoying 70 degree weather. It was munching on my favorite sandwich during lunch with my parents. It was raking leaves until my arms felt like they were going to fall off. It was falling off the NaBloPoMo wagon because I didn’t have anything happy to post. It was receiving word that a friend of mine was critically injured in Afghanistan. It was carrying my cell phone around in case we received an update.

The weekend was distracting myself from the loneliness and sad news by shopping. It was a Saturday evening spent with Jim Carrey and his 3-D world that is ” A Christmas Carol.” It was time on the couch with my pup and some ice cream. It was lighting prayer candles for my friend and his family. It was fighting back tears of confusion, hurt and sadness.

The weekend was conversations with Darling over a peppermint hot chocolate. It was Sunday morning breakfast with my Gram. It was biting my tongue over the subtle political nuances. It was Christmas present shopping at Target. It was throwing myself into making a delicious dinner for my parents. It was finishing a book that I couldn’t have read at a more perfect time in my life (Second Chance, by Jane Green). It was getting lost in the world of Stars Hollow a few too many times.

It was getting to know myself better. It was being there for my friends. It was a melange of emotions, people, places. It was prayers, hope and love.

16 Responses to “The Weekend that Was…”

  1. mandy November 16, 2009 at 10:45 pm #

    My weekend was hoping that my dear friend who has recently gone through a breakup was ok. It was wishing I was closer to give her a hug and take her out for margaritas. It was hoping she knows just how much of an amazing, strong, beautiful woman she is. <3 you. As always a beautiful post, Nora.

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 16, 2009 at 11:56 pm #

    Loved this post. Your posts honestly give me goosebumps all the time.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. I wish I could give you a big hug. Keep us updated, OK!

    XO

  3. Akirah November 17, 2009 at 12:21 am #

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend. That’s absolutely awful news. I hope things get better.

  4. Amanda November 17, 2009 at 12:39 am #

    This is a beautiful way to look at the weekend, Nora. And I agree with Amber, it gave me a little shiver :)

  5. Emily November 17, 2009 at 2:31 am #

    Hmmm, very well written – thanks for sharing your weekend! Sorry about your bad news ….

  6. Becky November 17, 2009 at 6:58 am #

    What a great post! I hope your friend is okay and recovering well.

    Ahhh, Stars Hollow…

  7. SoMi's Nilsa November 17, 2009 at 9:08 am #

    I hope your friend is OK … I think it’s during times of crisis that we learn so much about ourselves, what’s important to us, what we need out of life.

    Oh and there’s a tea place in Chicago that serves THE BEST mint chocolate tea. Yes, TEA. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. I can see spending an afternoon with you, our hands wrapped around our mugs. Sitting in a tea shop window. Chatting away. Hugs.

  8. Kyla Roma November 17, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    I hope your friend is alright and that the news is good and comes fast! And I really enjoy your characterizing the conversation with you Nan as having subtle political nuances because that was not at all what it sounded like on twitter over the weekend what with the being yelled at lol

    I’m glad your friends and family are rallying around you these days, and I wish I could be to. <3

  9. tabithablogs November 17, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

    So when I read this post last night, I almost cried. I don’t even know why exactly, except that your raw honesty and openness just makes me feel a whole spectrum of my own emotions. Or something.

    Beautifully written, and I wish I could’ve been there to do a lot of that stuff with you! :)

  10. ria November 17, 2009 at 3:31 pm #

    so sorry to hear about your friend. that is horrible news to get. i wish i could give you a big hug.

  11. Lisa D November 17, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. I hope he/she is ok…

    I totally get the loneliness in crowds things, too. It’s funny how you can at times feel more isolated when you are around big groups than when you are by yourself. I think it’s because sometimes everyone around you is laughing & full of joy, but if you aren’t feeling that at the moment, it can be really isolating.

    As usual, this was beautifully written.

  12. Jessica November 17, 2009 at 10:02 pm #

    Giving you a big hug. What a beautifully written post. And I’m glad you have a great support system around you right now.

  13. Margarita November 18, 2009 at 2:57 am #

    I wish I was there. I’m sending you the biggest hugs and best wishes. Your weekend sounds nice though, albeit filled with emotional dramas and heartache, but if we don’t feel pain, how will we feel happiness and light?

  14. Lacey Bean November 18, 2009 at 10:45 am #

    I know what you mean about feeling lonely when you’re surrounded by people, even family or loved ones.

    Hope your friend is ok… my thoughts are with them right now.

  15. andhari November 20, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    Amaxing post. Nothing better than spending your days and evenings with your loved ones and have meaningful conversations with them. I always feel lighter after a good weekend :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Weekend: Pedis, Pine & Presents « Walking through the Rain - December 14, 2009

    [...] feature on my blog. If you want to see a few other similar entries you can go here and here. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

