Pretty In Pink

15 Jun

As I mentioned yesterday, I joined forces with thousands of other St. Louisians, Missourians and Illinois-ians to raise money for breast cancer. Here’s a few of my favorite moments from the walk this past weekend…

Favorite Team Name of the day: Hakuna MaTATAS. (Seriously clever.)

Biggest Tear Inducing Moment of the day: Happening upon this couple for a good portion of the walk. They held hands the entire walk, kissing each other from time to time, and enjoying each other’s company. (His shirt says “In Celebration of Mary, 5 Years!” and Hers says “In Celebration of ME! Cancer free for Five Years June 1st 2010.”)

Favorite Moment of Feeling United: Looking ahead of us and seeing this crowd, feeling like a part of something that matters, something bigger, something that could help save lives. We all pushed our differences aside to join for a common goal: That’s the power of the human spirit.

 

Favorite Photo pre-walk, minus the squinty eyes (I think I’ll be wearing my sunglasses outside at all times this summer):

 

I walked for my Great Aunt. I walked for the time I found a lump a year ago; though it was nothing the terror that ran through my body and my mind will never escape me. I walked for women all across the world, those with insurance and without. I walked for the commonality of women, the bond that we all inexplicably share. I walked for you. I walked for me. I walked for women (and men) everywhere.

 

Do you have a charity of choice that sponsors a walk/run or other type of event?

20 Responses to “Pretty In Pink”

  1. clairesuzanne June 15, 2010 at 6:43 am #

    Wow! What a great cause. My mom had breast cancer and it’s definitely very scary. She’s been cancer-free for 3 years now.

    I love the photo of all the people; there are so many! My small hometown recently had the Relay for Life which raises money for all cancers and I thought we had a good turn out of 300 people!

    Way to go St. Louis!

  2. mandy June 15, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    Such a great event. I love that second photo it makes me teary. How inspirational to see all those people ahead of you.

  3. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns June 15, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Those photos are awesome – I love the sea of people in the one photo. You guys looked so cute! Way to get out for such a great cause!

    That is scary that you found a lump! Yikes. Glad it was nothing.

    My aunt has battled breast cancer on and off for the last 10+ years. It just keeps coming back in different places. She just completed her last chemo treatment so we are all hoping that she is in the clear… My SIL & Best friend both lost their mom’s to breast cancer at a young age, so it’s definitely a cause that is close to my heart.

  4. Maddy June 15, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Lol at the Hakuna MaTaTa’s!!! Love it!

    What an amazing experience, no? That’s exactly how I felt during the AIDS Walk in New York last month! It’s amazing to see all the people from different walks of life, coming together for a wonderful cause! I can’t wait to do it again next year :)

  5. Becky June 15, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Love this!!! Thanks for walking!

  6. MASHley June 15, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    ash – great post. my fiancee’s aunt not to mention several family friends have had breast cancer. wonderful cause and pictures!

  7. Margarita June 15, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    That`s amazing! Congrats on the walk! I`ve done a couple of breast cancer walks in Toronto and it`s always so amazing to hear all the heartbreaking but triumphant stories from everyone!

  8. ria June 15, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    this is such a great cause. i don’t know if there are many people who haven’t been touched by breast cancer in some way.

  9. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks June 15, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    I tear up at breast cancer walks. There is a certain energy at them, unlike any other. It is such a supportive environment, for those who have been healed, those who are struggling to survive and those who didn’t make it. It’s inspiring, to say the least.

  10. Habbala June 15, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    It’s so great that you did this! My Aunt is a breast cancer survivor and we SUPER celebrated her 5 year in remission mark.

  11. Melissa June 15, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    I love this. My mom had breast cancer (been in remission for 10 years!) and we do two walks a year. I love it for many of the same reasons you listed- it’s an amazing feeling to be part of something big, with SO many people working towards the same cause. :)

  12. Kyla Roma June 15, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    This is amazing- that picture of all of you stretching out to forever?? That is double amazing!! :)

    You’re just wonderful. It’s a fact. And I love that you were part of this :)

  13. Elizabeth June 15, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    My grandmother is a two time breast cancer survivor–I have so much gratitude for these events. The walks I was most active with were for the AT Foundation in honor of a family in my community.

  14. Nicole June 15, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    That’s so awesome! My Memere just died of cancer and now one of my cousins has cancer (she’s only 34). Neither cancers were breast cancer, but it has really made me think. And it has made me want to take part in such a walk, because there are so many women suffering out there. We need to fight for a cure!

  15. Jessica June 15, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    Amazing. That photo of the crowd is incredible! That must have felt really amazing to see all those women together. What a great experience.

  16. imogenc June 16, 2010 at 2:02 am #

    That first picture actually brought tears to my eyes! What a lovely, brave couple…

    Cudos for joining your voice with thousands of others on this extremely vital issue! I had a breast lump scare myself, a while back -nothing major (thankfully) but it gave me a glimpse of what going through something like that would be…

    Wishing and hoping for the absolute best, for all current patients, survivors and their families!

  17. Krystyn June 16, 2010 at 5:53 am #

    Great pictures and congrats to you for doing the Race for the Cure walk…it’s always an awesome experience.

  18. Sarah June 18, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    Oh my God that couple are so sweet! And wow was it a big event!
    I just want to say thank you for participating in this event, Nora. We all need a cure for breast cancer and every little helps to find one.

  19. Erin June 19, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Wow. So proud of you for accomplishing this!

    Sadly, prostate cancer doesn’t really have a walk or I’d be participating.

  20. E.P. June 27, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    My sorority’s big thing was breast cancer awareness, and we volunteered at the Walk for the Cure every year I was in college. Having known women with breast cancer, the charity was always near and dear to my heart, and being a part of an organization that focused on that philanthropy touched me. And when we have the Walk for the Cure in Nashville this year, you better believe I am participating. (:

    SO glad you got to do this, lady!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

