Grace in Small Things: Week Two

24 Sep

1. Taking a long lunch with my dad on Monday. It’s rare that we both have free lunch hours so we took about 90 minutes to chat work, to discuss my after grad school plans, and my upcoming birthday.

2. An amazing run on Tuesday night in between Glee and Parenthood. No idea if it was because I didn’t want to miss a moment of Parenthood or what, but I had the best time. Running under the glow of a nearly full moon is also quite calming; I felt like the road was all mine.

3. Staring a “Creative Journaling,” class at my library. We only meet once a month but the teacher is incredibly enthusiastic: she brought treats, “bling” to decorate our journals with, and has guest speakers lined up. The class consists of a few people my gram’s age, a young kid who is maybe 12, and a few mother/daughter combos like Darling and me. I also found out this lady runs a knitting group that I might try as well; they teach people who don’t know how to knit too!

4. I’m going to visit my brother this weekend. He can’t make it home for my birthday so he invited me to my college town for a weekend of movies, fun, tailgating, and whatever other trouble we get into.

5. Having a good sales week at work; I’m not 100% in the sales department but I dabble and I did pretty well this week. It’s kind of fun/exciting.

6. Only 3 weeks of school left, and of those three, I’ll only be busy with school work for two of them.

7. Figuring out/firming up my New Year’s Eve plans… in California!

What small things made you happy this week? Anything in particular you are looking forward to this weekend?

13 Responses to “Grace in Small Things: Week Two”

  1. mandy September 24, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    I love that you’re taking a journaling class! Long lunches are great, espcially when you get to catch up with your dad. Every few weeks my mom and I try to have lunch together, just because. I am so excited that you’re going to go to Cali for NYE! Rest assured I will be drunk dialing you all “from the future” when it turns midnight here in OH (the BFF is getting married that night!). Enjoy your weekend, love!!

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 24, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    How exciting that you’re going to Cali for NYE! That will be so fun.

    Have a lovely weekend with your brother :-)

  3. Grace September 24, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    That sounds like a nice week. I love long lunches and very enthusiastic teachers. What part of California are you visiting?

  4. Mel September 24, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    My new tattoo simply made my week. :) It was needed – I start my internships next week and I needed to see “breathe” on a daily basis from now on!

  5. Suburban Sweetheart September 24, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Oh, I LOVE the idea of a creative journaling class! I wonder if my hometown library has anything like that…

  6. Margarita September 24, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    New Years Eve in California?? Amazing! Things finally coming together for me this week, that was a huge grace!!

  7. Becky September 24, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    I was wiped this week so I took a mental health day today and it was one of the best decisions I made. It was nice to know I could do that too, ya know?

  8. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 24, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    Yea for having fun NYE plans! Now you have a reason to be excited for that holiday! I am sort of anti-NYE, but if I had fun travels plans, it’d be a different story!

    Let’s see, little things I appreciated this week…

    1. Adam Braverman loves Ray LaMontagne. Reason number 4,634 why we should get married.
    2. My boots arrived in the mail on Thursday which made my day!
    3. Hearing the excitement in my nephews voices when I got to their house on Monday.
    4. The barrister surprising me by coming over on Wednesday.

    Lots of things to appreciate/enjoy! Love these posts! Have so much fun this weekend with your brother!! Maybe pretend you are in college again? :) I fully endorse that!

  9. Ashley September 25, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Yes, NYE!

  10. terra September 25, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    Oh! The Creative Journaling class sounds very cool! Might have to check around in my own community for something like that…

  11. Elizabeth September 25, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Three more weeks! You can so do that. Enjoy that journaling class!

  12. Akirah September 26, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    I keep hearing about this Parenthood show. I need to get on this wagon!

  13. Jessica September 26, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    The weekend with your brother sounds like a ton of fun! That will be great. And I’ve been reading about this blogger rendezvous in San Fran on NYE. Sounds like a ton of fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

