Ole Man Winter

21 Jan

It’s cold.
Not just regular winter weather cold.
We’re talking so cold that it’s the headline news.
It was -1 on Saturday morning and a whopping 3 degrees last night.

Tonight we are expecting up to one inch of freezing rain and ice (which I know is nothing compared to what the Northeast has been hit with in the last few weeks), but it makes me want to hibernate.

Last night Jack and I curled up on the bed (sweatpants, long-sleeved shirt, sweatshirt, plus an extra blanket on top of my comforter) to read books and watch movies. His little dog legs were strewn across my stomach as he snored and had doggie dreams, presumably of running in fields of flowers, not rock-hard ground.

As much as I don’t like the cold weather I do like how it makes everyone slow down, stay inside, rest, catch up on projects, with one another. These are the days I wish I had a real house, with a fireplace, two comfortable chairs and a giant, steaming cup of hot chocolate to warm my hands.

Until then, I’ll settle for cuddling with the best dog ever.

Happy Winter!

One Response to “Ole Man Winter”

  1. R.Wick January 22, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    Oh how I long for that cozy fireplace in the hearth room of our future home. I share your desires. It truly is a dream as I doubt our future house will have a hearth room. In the meantime, we currently have one in the finished basement. Sunday, we (all three – including Emma) snuggled up on the sofa downstairs, ate homemade chilli and bonded in front of the roaring fire. I try to block out that the loud, crazy football game was on and that truly was what my husband was interested in. No, I imagine just the nipping cold outside and all of us snug by the fire. Mmmmm…..

Leave a Reply

