Nawlin’s Highlights

28 Jan

Highlights from my New Orleans trip:

– Rooftop dining the first night there, at a hosted dinner, with a gorgeous breeze and view of the city. Bonus: heated pool and hot tub.

– Taking half of Thursday off from the conference to wander around the French Quarter with Darling. We covered Bourbon all the way to Cafe du Monde, St. Louis Cathedral and everything in between Bonus: I (stupidly) wore my work clothes out. While it was slightly annoying I kind of enjoyed the attention I received from the boys. My favorite phrase “Damn girl…” Darling wanted to swat them away with her umbrella.

– Thursday night’s dinner at NOLA (an Emeril restaurant). Talk about amazing food. And an open bar. And a chance to finally get to know people!

– The bar crawl. Amazing. Hurricanes down there are a whole different world from they way they are made up here. Wow. Bonus: Got to keep the glass from Pat O’Brien’s. And the Microsoft Corporate boys didn’t let me pay for a darn thing. Not one drink, cab fare or tip. One in particular even bought me a pink feather boa and cowgirl hat. I also enjoyed putting my feet in the hot tub after we got home at 2 in the morning.

– Friday evening’s dinner at the famou Antoine’s. A 15 room dining experience, decor unlike any other and tons of history. Bonus: free tour at the end of dinner, a giant Baked Alaska, free wine, beads, and the boys didn’t make us walk on cobblestone in heels on the way home.

– Finding that awesome connection with a guy… ignoring the fact that he lives hours and hours away, I forgot how great it is to have REAL butterflies and not just a nervous pit of a stomach.

2 Responses to “Nawlin’s Highlights”

  1. Anne January 28, 2008 at 7:28 pm #

    sounds amazing …..

    glad you had a great time !

  2. ♥Nova January 29, 2008 at 9:15 am #

    Awwww, your trip so far sounds fabulous!

    I’ve always wanted to go to New Orleans, and never have (yet!). After Hurricane Katrina, I had wondered if much had changed. Doesn’t sound it like it, from what you have written. I’m so glad that you’re enjoying yourself, and savor the butterflies that this guy is giving you! Those are definitely moments to cherish!

Leave a Reply

