Wishing we could be more “grateful”

19 Feb

Saturday eve was a fiesta for my co-workers 30th birthday complete with a rainbow boa, t-shirts with his face on them and of course, our neighborhood Hippie Bar, The Grateful Inn

Living in MWood over the past year and a half, new trendy bars have sprung up overnight, drawing the young and scantily clad crowd, a whole new rash of drunk driving incidents, economic activity and giving us a new reputation as the up and coming MWood.

The Grateful Inn, a smoke-free bar, managed to survive these grand openings, until now. It’s been bought out by one of the other local bar owners and is going to be a small boutique bar with women waitresses instead of the beard-growing, local beer-recommending waiters.

Its last day is March 1st. My little neighborhood bar where you could actually hear yourself think is going to be gone. I’m okay with the new money for the enclave of MWood, the new places to go, the see & be seen crowd but I’m not okay with the first place that welcomed me to MWood.

I guess this is my way of saying that sometimes, just every once in awhile, I wish America didn’t require brand new decor, shiny new beer taps, fresh linens and uncomfortable seats, cigarette smoke blurring your vision and bizarre beats blaring from the speakers. Sometimes I wish America could remember the feeling of having a place- your place- right around the corner from your home.

Instead we are in a constant battle with oursevles for newer, better, faster, stronger, more expensive and forget what some of our foundation is based on.

I’m going to find some Jerry Garcia music…

One Response to “Wishing we could be more “grateful””

  1. Nova February 21, 2008 at 2:31 pm #

    I have never believed that newer or better is necessarily the way to go. In my neighborhood, primarily populated by Old-World Italians, the old cafes and coffee shops are slowly being replaced by Dunkin Donuts and Starbucks. I remember when Starbucks first came to my neighborhood. I hated it. The new stores were literally driving out the older generations. Now, there are maybe only 2 old-style cafes in my neighborhood, when they used to be all up-and-down the avenue. It’s sad. The changes are really something to grieve for the way things used to be.

Leave a Reply

