The New T

10 Mar

Last Wednesday I was wined and dined by the New T.  (Or maybe I should call him Another T? There is no Old T for him to be New. Yes, Another T is more suitable).

Another T has visited my office regularly for the last two years during which times we usually chat about work, latest trips, and other random, mostly blah things. Out of the blue, he called me at the office and asked me to dinner. I will admit that if I know he’s coming to the office I do my best to look nice and for quite sometime (not so much anymore) I would get nervous around him, so of course I accepted.

Another T apparently knows people in the StL as he took us to 1111 Mississippi where upon our arrival we were whisked to a prime table surrounded by windows, served by a spunky, knowledgeable waiter and were comped (or so he says) a trio of desserts and port wine, in addition to our wild boar ravioli appetizer, several glasses of Chardonnay (for me) Jack and Coke (for him) and our respective entrees.

He’s a go-getter: self-employed until recently, merged with a larger company in the StL area and is refurbing a house. Not quite my usual style of guy (he looks like he belongs at Yale or Harvard; long-sleeved shirt buttoned to the top with a sweater over it, coiffed hair, glasses), but mysterious and challenging in a way I suppose.

Conversation was the usual first date talk: families, college (he didn’t graduate), jobs, books, movies, music, food, etc. I did find out he’s a huge fan of Star Wars, which prompted discussion about my name (which only makes sense to those of you who really know me), the gold bikini and bun situation and why I have never seen the entire Star Wars movies.

We have a second date planned for tomorrow night. Dating on a week night is quite interesting but he has promised to come up with “… something creative for a Tuesday night…”

Stay Tuned.

2 Responses to “The New T”

  1. Nova March 10, 2008 at 11:28 am #

    He would have had me at the wild boar ravioli appetizer!

    All joking aside, he sounds like a respectable enough guy. I’m not too keen on the yuppy-puppy look, but sometimes those guys are beasts undercover! (Hahaha – i’m writing as if my opinion counts!)

    It’s good that you’re out there having fun. That’s all that really matters, right? So long as you’re having fun along the way, it will be a bonus if something serious develops.

    Can’t wait to see what he planned for you two!

  2. oh March 11, 2008 at 6:53 pm #

    Good luck, Nor. Hope to hear what constitutes a creative date. BTW, I like the look – very East Coast, with the button shirt and sweater and good hair and glasses – a little bit of Clark Kent, a little bit “Heart” from an old TV show called THE PAPER CHASE.

Leave a Reply

