A year of doing what…?

12 Mar

I think I mentioned that I joined a new book club: one with young professionals. Lawyers. Teachers. English majors.

Our next book is “A Year of Living Biblically,” by A.J. Jacobs. I personally voted for Suite Francaise, but obviously lost. I’ve never been a huge memoir fan unless it’s Mafia related although surprisingly Mr. Jacobs writes with humor and purpose. I’m 50 pages in and already hooked, not to mention the many random things I’ve learned about the Bible that I (sadly) confess I was unaware of.

 I’m off to read about Jacobs’ quest to grow a long beard, teach his child the Ten Commandents and wear tassles on his clothes everyday… among other things.

4 Responses to “A year of doing what…?”

  1. Nova March 13, 2008 at 10:24 am #

    I’ve put Jacobs’ book on my reading list.

    Currently, I am reading Water for Elephants (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1565125606/ref=reg_hu-wl_mrai-recs).

    I’ve been wanting to join a book club for years. It’s just hard to commit to the time, although I do read about a novel a week.

  2. Nora March 13, 2008 at 12:12 pm #

    We read Water for Elephants first! I couldn’t put it down. Read it in less than 24 hours I think. Probably a record for me. A novel a week? What else do you read? Do tell!

    (and thanks for being a loyal reader)

  3. Nova March 13, 2008 at 3:32 pm #

    On my commute to and from work, I read a book. So far, my pace is about a novel a week. Not blazing fast, but decent considering I dont have any other time between work, home, and baby.

    The last few books I read:

    – Bridge of Sighs, by Richard Russo
    – The Wednesday Letters, by Jason F. Wright
    – The Thirteenth Tale, by Diane Setterfield
    – Love in the Time of Cholera, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
    – The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini

  4. oh March 13, 2008 at 5:57 pm #

    Hi, Nova,

    Ah, reading on your commute…perfect. I used to do that when we lived in NYC. And I always knew what was current and good cuz that’s what everyone on the train was reading. And now…I cruise the bookstores regularly but always wonder “what’s everyone on the D train reading?”

    Did you like The Thirteenth Tale? I’ve been eyeing it and wondering… Don’t know Birdge of Sighs, either but will check it out.
    Thanks, Nova!

Leave a Reply

