Flying Solo with HB

14 Mar

(First of all, thanks to my readers for making yesterday my best day for blog views! I hit 50! WooHoo!)

True to Nora form, I was nervous about this date all day yesterday. I did my usual wander around the apartment, sans shirt, trying to cool down. I was that nervous. This happens to me every time I go on a date. Kind of annoying. Maybe because this was the first time HB and I wouldn’t have our friends around?

Anyway, HB, true to his gentlemanly self, showed up just a few minutes early and spent the five minutes that I still needed to get completely ready playing with Jack. Good Sign #1.

HB, an import from KC to the STL, admitted to me several days ago that he had NEVER been to “The Hill.” This “Hill,” is famous for it’s fantastic Italian restaurants, both fancy, casual and even slumming, depending on which restaurant you choose. The food is always amazing. The service impeccable. And it’s Italian. And yes, I’m biased. This revelation required we go to Zia’s, one of my favorite casual Italian dining experiences in the area. Thankfully he loved it and told me he can’t wait to try more restaurants in the area. Good Sign #2: He paid the bill without glancing at it and he carried my leftovers to the car for me. Nice.

After dinner we wandered over to the piano bar (the one famous for jerky bouncers) for a few drinks and live music. Thankfully there was no mean bouncer and the people watching was at its prime. We think the bar was taken up by drug dealers and/or pimps and hos. Seriously. Good Sign #3: He didn’t let me pay for my drinks though I offered NOR did he look (that I could tell) at the chicks in the short dresses that kept walking past.

After two drinks and realizing it was midnight and we both had to be at work at 8 am today, we reluctantly left the bar. He walked me up to my apartment and then joined me for a brief stroll to walk Mr. Jack.

The evening ended with a first kiss in the doorway to my apartment building which was quite nice despite the fact Jack was trying to run out of the door to meet a cat that was flirting with him, causing him to circle the leash around HB’s arm. That did not ruin the enjoyment however.

Good Sign #4: He wasn’t sure if he would go to the wedding event I am attending tonight, though he was invited. He told me last night he plans to be there.

2 Responses to “Flying Solo with HB”

  1. Anne March 14, 2008 at 3:16 pm #

    Oh your good signs are REALLY good.

    Zia’s…. our favorite. :-)

    Glad you had a great time- his most impressive moment was coming with you to walk Jack, he obviously did not want the night to end.

    Have fun tonight !

  2. RW March 17, 2008 at 9:12 am #

    Oh – such good signs. Too many to comment on – except this one…..carrying the leftovers. On the first date I had with Mike at Trattoria Marcella I ordered the lasagna. Little did I know it came in a full size baking pan – no joke. I ate only 1/4 of it and could not stand wasting it since it was so good. Without a flinch, Mike said to save it and he would carry it for me. For some reason I just thought that was so sweet. Not just any guy will do that!

Leave a Reply

