The Way IT Guys go a-courtin’?

28 Mar

Remember the man who came to my office and informed me he needed help going to the bathroom? (It should be noted that he’s middle-aged, with glasses, beard & balding, wears a backpack when he comes in. I think he might be, without this sounding mean, special.)

Well, he came back today. But he wasn’t scheduled for a test. Instead, he was holding a dozen white roses, wrapped with a ribbon and gold foil. This is what happened:

Man: Hi.
Me (working at my desk, head down): Are you here for a test today?
Man: No. These are for you. These flowers are for you.
Me(I look up and see a dozen white roses staring at me): Oh. Well. Thanks.
Man: I can’t stop thinking about you. You are so nice and so pretty and I wanted you to know that I can’t stop thinking about you.
Me: Ah, well that’s nice.
Man: I want to be your friend. (Sticks out his hand). My name is Al.
Me (reluctantly shaking his hand): Hi, I’m Nora. (Had I been thinking I would have made up a name.)
Man: So are you busy right now?
Me: Well I am at work, so yes.
Man: Well I don’t want to interrupt your routine. So can I call you at work?
Me: I don’t think that would be a good idea.
Man: Do you have a cell phone?
Me: I have a boyfriend. (honest, it just tumbled out of my mouth).
Man: That’s okay. I can still be your friend.
Me: I’m not sure that would be a good idea.
Man: Well, it was nice to meet you. (Sticks out his hand again).
Me: Have a nice day.
Man: I’m leaving the flowers here for you.

****
I won’t lie. I’m kind of weirded out by the whole thing. The first thing I did? Text HB to tell him I have a funny story to tell him. Second thing? Gave the flowers away. Third thing? Wrote this blog. And now I’m going to wash my hands.

I’m still shaking.

3 Responses to “The Way IT Guys go a-courtin’?”

  1. Anne March 28, 2008 at 1:54 pm #

    RUN NORA RUN !

    I’m completely creeped out.

  2. oh March 29, 2008 at 10:08 am #

    I’m getting you another dog.
    A huge MFer that will stay by your side 24/7. (OK, he’ll let HB get close to you, but that’s it.)
    By day, he’ll lie under your desk at work.
    By night, he’ll patrol your door and windows, unceaselessly.
    He’ll go with you in the car, heck, he’ll even drive it if you want him to.
    I’m thinking a fila; they outrank the pit bull, I think.

  3. She She March 31, 2008 at 10:22 am #

    He does sound a little — unskilled in his social abilities. Probably harmless though. Good to put your boundaries out there though.

Leave a Reply

