In Recovery

22 Apr

I returned from Vegas with:

  • $25 left in the cash that I took
  • 159 pictures to document the weekend
  • 10 hours of sleep the whole time I was there
  • One souvenir beer mug from “Dick’s Last Resort”
  • One tank top from “Dick’s Last Resort,” reading (very inappropriately, I know) “I love Dicks”
  • A stomach sore from laughter with the girls
  • Blisters on my toes from dancing in heels until the wee hours of the night
  • The inevitable sore throat/looming cold as a result of the 10 hours of sleep the whole time I was there
  • I’m sure an extra few pounds…

While I was in Vegas I…

  • Saw Carrot Top at the Luxor. He’s really hilarious. Really.
  • Ate at one of the infamous buffets and survived.
  • Took a “High Octane” shot to start off the drinking weekend.  
  • Saw the inside of at least 15 cabs.
  • Went to Excalibur, The Venetian,  MGM Grand, New York, New York; Luxor, Mandalay Bay, Monte Carlo, Treasure Island, Mirage, Stratosphere, Bellagio, Paris and the Golden Nugget over the course of the four days.
  • Single handedly sweet talked our way into two clubs, VIP style, no cover (Club Tao and LAX).
  • Earned free Patron Tequila shots for me and the other seven girls… five times. I can’t even fathom how much money those guys spent on us (Club Tao)
  • Danced on one of the most crowded dance floors ever (Club Tao)
  • Met two guys that I know I would click with… if they lived in my state. One is a midwest guy so he has my number, just in case. Texting has resulted (Club Tao)
  • Ate McDonalds for the first time in five years at 4 am
  • Ate at Dick’s Last Resort… twice
  • Enjoyed complimentary tickets to Mamma Mia thanks to a friend of mine in PR in Las Vegas
  • Purchased an aqua massage after night number two of dancing
  • Witnessed a “Flair Contest,” at Kahunaville between bartenders
  • Was invited to be on 20 different VIP guest lists during our time there
  • Snagged a free H2000 Limo (hummer limo) to OG’s and then enjoyed the “house car,” on the way back to our hotel
  • Enjoyed three 4-D rides: Spongebob, Dinosaur Rescue and Log Ride
  • Conquered my fear of heights by eating dinner at the “Top of the World,” at Stratosphere and leaning over the edge of the view tower (115 stories high)
  • Managed to be intoxicated before noon on a Saturday
  • Took pictures with parrots
  • Saw the light show on the “Old Vegas,” strip
  • Smoked a cigarette (daring!)
  • Sang along to a Broadway play (Mamma Mia)
  • Drank out of an Eiffel Tower shaped glass
  • …and more (some things that happen in Vegas really do need to stay in Vegas!)

 

4 Responses to “In Recovery”

  1. Nova-san April 22, 2008 at 4:16 pm #

    Whoa!!! I would have to train before I could even begin to party on your level! You are true rockstar indeed!

    I’m so glad you had fun, Nora! I bet that was exactly what you needed!

    Hugs, hugs and hugs!
    Nova

  2. Nova-san April 22, 2008 at 4:17 pm #

    Did you take photos of the hummer limo???

  3. RWick April 22, 2008 at 4:19 pm #

    Wow Girlfriend…you really had the Vegas experience in one trip. It took me two or three trips to do all that! You make a girl proud! You also make a girl want to go back!

  4. Nora April 22, 2008 at 4:31 pm #

    Nova: Yes, one of the girls has a picture of all of us in front of it… I will post when I can get it! You could party with us, I’m sure of it! It was a wonderful whirlwind of a vacation :)

    RWick: It was intense. That’s for sure. That’s not even the “complete,” list as I keep thinking of things that we accomplished. I think I’ll be ready to go back in a few years!

Leave a Reply

