Damned if you do, Damned if you don’t

23 Apr

Never has that phrase been more true. As usual, I grapple with how much of my personal life I should reveal on this blog but right now I’m annoyed (which is probably the worst time to write).

I had dinner with my Wednesday night (high school) friends and one of them is marginally responsible for me meeting the Former HB. She apologized for the situation (not her fault) and my stupid curiousity got the best of me… which led me to ask what his version of the story was.

I am not surprised that he told her and the actual person who set us up that he ended things early in the evening and that he omitted the fact that we were in bed. I expected that (for whatever it’s worth, they believe me because as you all know, there is no way I could make up these stories). And, while I knew the reason he broke up with me, I wasn’t quite ready to hear it.  Not even a little bit. As suspected, Former HB was equating spark with sex. There are reasons this annoys me: a real man could have discussed the “issue,” with me; there were never any physical or spoken allusions to the “issue,”; he had been wishy-washy about our so-called “relationship,”…
So now, here I am, embarassed because my friends know his reasoning (so why not share with the internet at this point) feeling like a total prude and boring person (even though I know I’m not), and not sure what to do in the future. As we all know, you are damned if you do and damned if you don’t.

What’s a girl supposed to do?

One Response to “Damned if you do, Damned if you don’t”

  1. Nova-san April 24, 2008 at 8:38 am #

    He really is an ass. He could have just said that things didn’t work out…. anything really except for what he said. You have no reason to be embarrassed. You didn’t do anything wrong. He obviously wasn’t man enough to discuss any issues with you that he was feeling, and instead took the coward way out.

    There is nothing for you to do, except to go on doing what you’ve been doing and stay the fabulous girl that you are. He’s the loser. You’re not.

Leave a Reply

