Back in the saddle

3 Jun

It’s been two months since my last date mostly because I needed/wanted a break from the games, the lies, the exhaustion, the disappointment.

An old high school friend (and by old, I mean, older than me and someone I barely knew) found me on myspace and we started conversing via email which escalated into him asking for my number and a date last night.

Here’s how it went…
6:20pm: NP calls to set-up a firm time and meeting place. We settle on Bar Italia at 8pm.
8:00pm: Nora leaves her apartment, running late due to wardrobe crises, ignoring the fact that she tore her closet apart trying to decide what to wear
8:15 pm: Nora arrives at Bar Italia. It is closed.
8:17 pm: Nora calls NP after much debate. NP doesn’t answer.
8:19 pm: Nora calls a friend for advice. NP calls.
8:19pm: NP is just leaving happy hour, lost track of time and is 30 minutes away. He apologizes.
8:21pm: Nora walks over to Bar Louie to sit on their patio and enjoy a few beers; fortunately she had the foresight to leave a book in her purse, just in case.
9:00pm: NP shows up. He recently moved here from Florida and he totally looks the Florida part. Linen pants. A navy blue shirt with palm trees etched in it. He apologizes again for the poor first impression.
9:10pm: We bother order a drink and start the getting-to-know you talk.
9:59pm: We wander over to Drunken Fish because NP is hungry and Nora supposes she is too. Nora discovers NP never eats pasta. EVER.
10:59pm: Check is paid for, dinner was eaten, conversation flowed relatively well and now Nora has to go home so she can hopefully get some sleep and be at work at 7 am.

There is talk of a second date (though NP confessed he can’t seem to get past the first or second date with girls… one of my friends joked it’s because he can’t make it on time for a date). While the date wasn’t exactly earthshaking I suppose I’ll go. I’ve never been one to believe that the initial chemistry/attraction will grow over time (what I like to call settling).

I vaguely recall why I left the dating world after the FormerHB debacle.

8 Responses to “Back in the saddle”

  1. palegrayforguilt June 3, 2008 at 12:34 pm #

    I may just be available this evening…? LOL. Great post!

  2. gsxr750gal June 3, 2008 at 1:46 pm #

    wow, so do you think you will go out with him again? after reading that, I wouldnt. he doesnt respect you enough to make the effort to be on time, he is not worthy of you.

  3. nova June 3, 2008 at 2:14 pm #

    hmm… he’s not exactly a charmer, is he?

    I can get over a lot of things, but tardiness is not really one of them, especially on the first date. It sort of sets the tone for how he will be for the life of the relationship. And what’s this with him not ever eating pasta? That just sounds weird.

    Sorry for being so negative. We never know – sometimes people just trip on the first date, and end up totally being the right one.

    btw, did i tell you i moved? http://coffeedujour.blogspot.com

  4. laylou June 3, 2008 at 2:23 pm #

    Palegrayforguilt… welcome to my blog. hope you enjoy.

    gsxr750gal… not sure at this point if I will or not. I think yes, just to be fair in case he’s just a bad first date kind of guy?

    nova… no, he’s not a charmer at all. it was very much like an interview. Where do I want to live if not here? What would my hobby be if I didn’t have a million dollars? I felt like the questions were memorized. He doesn’t like the carbs in the pasta. He only eats carbs for breakfast, so I suggested pasta for breakfast and he thought i was crazy. I heart my pasta!

  5. gsxr750gal June 3, 2008 at 3:34 pm #

    I cant live without pasta. I am anti carbs also, but common. We only get to do this once, might as well get some cheap pleasure out of it lol.

    I dont know, I think the happy hour comment kinda sent up a red flag also. I mean, if you are late for a date cause you are changing a tire, or you burnt dinner, or you are having a wicked bad hair day then ok, I can deal. But if your crack pipe broke, your needle got stuck in your arm, the getaway car took off without you, one of your hoe’s got beat up, or you were having a hard time walking away from the booze and/or card game (slot machine, whatever suits your fancy) then there may be some huge future issues. I would just hate to see another smart gal fall for the wrong guy cause she thought she should be fair to HIM. What about you babe??? You gotta put yourself first.

  6. NancyP June 3, 2008 at 9:01 pm #

    Pasta is too good to resist ;-) Let me also try and cheer you up by sharing this fun quiz that I had taken recently. I am sure you will love this too!!!

    I found this ultra cool quiz quiz that tells which Sex & the City girl you are most like. It’s created by a psychologist, Dr. Diana and is right on. I am a Carrie (no surprise!!!) Not only does the site have the quiz but you can also sign up for dating tips. It’s at http://www.mydatingpatterns.com

  7. laylou June 3, 2008 at 10:26 pm #

    gsxr750gal: I will agree that i thought it odd he scheduled a date the same night he had plans with the boys. i watch what i eat too, but to never eat pasta? come on, now. i’m italian for pete’s sake!

    Nancy: thanks for the comment. hope you’ve been reading for awhile, but if not, welcome to the site. i’m about to do the quiz you suggested!

  8. gsxr750gal June 4, 2008 at 9:59 am #

    see, I knew you were smart. glad to hear you picked up on that. some girls would rather be with the wrong guy than be alone, so they ignore little things like that. whatever you decide little lady, you have my support. I hope it all works out for you, and keep up with the good posts :)

Leave a Reply

