Moment of glory and Bull by the horns

3 Jun

Shortly after lunch today I received a text from a number not stored in my phone. Here’s the transcript…

Unknown: Sorry to bother you at work, but did you find someone to use the ticket?
(Nora is pretty sure that this is the Former HB, but not positive..)
Nora: Who is this? (I’ll admit, being able to ask this question gave me a bit of pleasure.)
Unknown: This is Bob.
Nora: Oh, sorry. Don’t have your number stored anymore. Yes, all tickets found a home. We didn’t cash your check. Why are you asking?
Bob: I want to go the concert so thought I’d see if my ticket was still available. You should have cashed the check.
Nora: No worries. Hope all is well.
Bob: Yes, things are great. Busy as usual. I really wish you had taken my money. Hope your summer is starting off well.
Nora: no reply.

Interesting background: Bob (according to a friend of mine) met someone else the night I was in the Indian wedding and is the other reason he broke up with me. She dumped him last week.

********************

I’ve been going to Trader Joe’s almost exclusively since January and I admit I have a small crush on one of the guys who works there. Most of the time I arrive at TJ’s I’m in my exercise clothes, all gross so I don’t really expect anyone to look at me like that. But this guy, well he does. Everytime I’m there he goes out of his way to ask me if he can offer me a sample of anything, if I need assistance looking for something. I always smile at him but have never had the courage to do a darn thing about it.

Until tonight. I went for my weekly dose of TJ’s food and TJMan (that’s what I’ll call him for now) was working at the sample food section for a change. I looked up to find him smiling at me and so the “dance,” began. I lingered by the dried fruit section. (Fortunately for me today I was still in my work clothes). TJMan walked right up to me and asked if he could help me… I was looking for raisins but couldn’t find them (honest) and of course he pointed them right out to me. I blurted out at the end of him recommending raisins to me (of all thing!): I really like it when you are here; it brightens up my TJ experience that much more. He looked kind of surprised, but in the good way. I was too embarassed to continue to stand there and walked off after that, only glancing backward to see him smiling at me.

I decided there is no way I can just leave like that. So I walked back in there with every intention of giving him my phone number. I walked up to the eggs (near the food sample spot) but he wasn’t there. I couldn’t very well leave without buying anything, so I wait in the now very long line but TJMan walks up to me and opens up a register.

We banter back and forth about why I’m back for eggs, his upcoming work schedule, his once again very kind offer to open anything I might want to try, and then we finally officially exchange names, ending in a handshake and a “I hope to see you soon.”

I get home with a smile on my face caused by this marginally witty banter and decide to call TJ’s, ask for TJMan and give him my number. He’s flattered, says I made his night and that he looks very much forward to seeing me soon. He’ll call later this week, he says.

The funny thing is that when I feel a connection or think I could like someone I get so nervous and flustered that I say stupid things (I mean half of the above is pretty unintelligent). Adrenaline was running high so I went for a run. It’s been awhile since I’ve really put myself out there like that; realizing that the worst thing that could happen is he says he has a girlfriend or is not interested, I figured it was worth a shot. The old Nora is slowly but surely returning and it feels amazing.

3 Responses to “Moment of glory and Bull by the horns”

  1. nova June 4, 2008 at 11:18 am #

    Argh – aren’t you so glad to be rid of Bob??? He was probably a flake with the other chick and that’s why she broke up with him.

    Way to rope in the Bull! I used to flirt with a guy at my old neighborhood Starbucks, and although it never led to anything, it just made it so nice whenever I would go in there to get coffee.

    TJMan seems to be interested, and that’s wonderful that you acted on your impulses. I can’t wait to read what happens next!

  2. Anne June 4, 2008 at 1:00 pm #

    You rock- I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

    Also…. what are some of your fave TJ foods? I feel like I get the same 15 things everything I go.

  3. laylou June 4, 2008 at 1:17 pm #

    Nova: yes, I’m glad to be rid of Bob. One of my friends felt the need to give me the play-by-play of his relationship with this other chick. Evidently she canceled dates on him numerous times and he was left literally begging to see her.

    Anne: the next post will be for you!

Leave a Reply

