No Granola for me

17 Jun

Trader Joe Boy update:

I went back to TJ’s last week and ran into TJ boy. We had what I like to call “first date,” talk in a matter of 10 minutes. Where we live, who we live with (me: ManMate, usually his girlfriend, Jack; him: a cat!), what we do, how stupid our air conditioning is (I’m still waiting for my landlord to find out from the building owner if they will do the many dollars worth of repairs our a/c needs to run accurately and efficiently. Any handymen who read this blog? If so, I’ll pay you to fix and offer up some Italian food as well!) and a few other miscellaneous things. At the end of the conversation he gave me his number. Told me to call him with a/c updates, he doesn’t have much free time and he’s sorry he never called me. That was three mixed signals all in one single breath. (We will also ignore the fact that he had no shame in checking out the other women who were walking past and added “Dude” to the beginning or end of each sentence. We will furthermore ignore the fact that I was a bit embarassed to run into him considering he didn’t call despite my personal bold move.)

I haven’t called him. Perhaps I’m too old-fashioned but did I not give him my number making it obvious I wanted him to call? I am not interested in guys who can’t take the first step at the very least. I do not like it when guys put something back on me, asking me to make the first phone call. I don’t care if I’m being too hard on him, if he’s too shy to call, I just don’t care. I’m fed up with the men in my generation and their lazy attitudes towards women, dating and in most cases, life in general. All of the women I know who put up with it deserve much better and I’m not too proud to put myself in that category.

I’m turning my “attention” elsewhere. And as far as I’m concerned, it’s not to anyone in their twenties… I’ve had it!

4 Responses to “No Granola for me”

  1. nova June 18, 2008 at 10:01 pm #

    I agree with you. If I already gave him my number and he hasn’t called, I wouldn’t call him even if he gave me his. I want the guy to take the initiative (even if I have to help him a little). I agree with you about the lazy attitude of men these days. They already get away with not “courting” a woman, and can get away with texting rather than making a proper phone call.

    Read this article if you have time: http://www.nytimes.com/2008/06/08/fashion/08love.html?_r=1&ref=fashion&pagewanted=print&oref=slogin

  2. nova June 18, 2008 at 10:02 pm #

    P.S. The article really doesn’t have anything to do with what you wrote, but I thought I’d share it with you anyway.

  3. laylou June 19, 2008 at 8:54 am #

    Nova:
    Thanks for the comments and the article. I read it this morning and can’t decide if I’m glad or sad that it seems to be true. Terrifying and accurate all at the same time. I won’t lie: I often wish I could travel back in time to the 50s, 60s or 70s to try dating then; at least the stories my parents tell me are pretty amazing.

  4. oh June 19, 2008 at 6:02 pm #

    Yes and you should believe the stories your parents tell you!

    Honestly, just the “dude” thing in his conversation when talking with you (obviously NOT a dude) was enough to put me off. But then, that could just be my gen talking.

Leave a Reply

