Nora by Mini-Feed

24 Jun

I’ll admit I’ve been slacking at the entertaining blogging lately; I can’t begin to tell you how liberating it is to not have to study or feel guilty for not studying if I’m out having fun.

I have been all over the place in the last few weeks, new pools, new bars, new friends, continually seeing Gym, not seeing near enough of Bed, polishing my house-keeping skills, all resulting in stories. I honestly don’t know where to begin, so we’ll just do mini-stories today.

  • Daniel the Actor. KH and I met him two weeks ago when were at Milo’s. Picture John Mayer, only taller and cuter, and you have Daniel. He’s currently in a “relationshit,” (he can’t take credit for the phrase, he borrowed it from Dane Cook) which he was open and willing to discuss. So, while we exchanged phone numbers and he was clearly flirting, the line in the sand was alredy drawn. Said discussion resulted in him asking if we girls are looking to be rescued… no, no, I said. I’m just looking for someone to go through life with me at my pace. His response? “So, you’re looking for someone to run with?” I couldn’t have said it better if I had tried. That may be the best description of what I’m looking for…EVER. He’s the reason that KH, TLo and I ventured to Drunken Fish as he’s a waiter there and asked us to go visit him before he leaves for London to study Shakespeare. We got his autograph, just in case he’s ever famous.
  • Circus Flora. I’m pretty sure Darling and Dad are kind of going through a sentimental time lately. Dad often talks about how summers used to be (Pool Pop-Up B, a game my brother made up with him, loosely based on baseball; lots of pool parties and kids running around, so on and so forth). When Darling asked if I wanted to go to the Circus, I said yes. After all, it’s been 10 years since the first time I went and was taken into the center ring… It was glorious to be completely honest. I love live entertainment. I love watching in awe of how people can bend and twist their bodies into shapes, use strength like you wouldn’t believe and more. It was funny, sweet, touching and most of all nice to be with the ‘rents on a Sunday afternoon. My adult moment: when I looked at the grandparents in the audience and decided I would like to have kids, perhaps sooner (like, next five years) rather than later, so my parents can take them and watch the looks of joy on their faces.
  • The Irishman. One of my friends set me up with her fiance’s friend (follow that?) and we went out last night. It was a mostly blind date, as we kind of ruined the “surprise,” courtesy of Facebook over the weekend, and it wasn’t nearly as scary as most blind dates are. He’s intelligent, likes to read, is in IT (hahaha), is what he calls a “super dork,” but he doesn’t necessarily come across that way and is unusually funny. Typical Nora: I find it flattering that a friend would think highly enough of me to set me up with a friend and enjoyed most of all the fact that after all the stupid crap I’ve dealt with, it’s possible to go out and have a nice evening with a guy, regardless of the outcome.
Leave a Reply

