The Standards

25 Jun

So I’ll admit I’m feeling a bit lonely this week… yes, I have dates, yes I have great friends and family but that doesn’t stop the lonely train from rolling through Noraville on occasion.

The Former HB contacted me earlier this week. Wants to be friends, needs some assistance as he’s moving to my area. I wasn’t nice to him but I wasn’t as mean as I should have been. He succeeded at his job: he got inside my head and aggravated me.

A¬†friend of mine informed me last night that he no longer thinks it’s a good idea if we communicate. Some of his points were valid, others were, well, not. It hurts when someone wants to give up on a friendship, doesn’t give you a chance to respond and just fades to black.

Many of my married friends have one year anniversaries coming up, others are getting married in the next few months, which means I’ll be dealing with the infamous “plus one,” situation.

It doesn’t help things that people have been offering me, unsolicited by the way, dating advice. You know the type, people who have been with the same guy for over four years, most of them having only dated a few people ever.

So, when I feel like this, I turn to certain movies, books, songs.
Movies: The Notebook, You’ve Got Mail, Because I Said So, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Casablanca, Pretty in Pink, the Big Chill, Happy Accidents
Music: Usually anything angry… Nirvana, current alternative music (I have some great mixes and I’m ashamed to say I don’t know the names of the artists), John Mayer, The Beatles & Paul McCartney, Notorious B.I.G., Dave Matthews Band, Mason Jennings
Books: A Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing, Jane Austen (Pride & Prejudice), Jennifer Weiner (Good in Bed, Little Earthquakes), my book of Emily Dickinson poems

Thank goodness for Bootcamp with ManMate… it’s the perfect release to free your mind and just be with your body. Thank goodness for my friends who laugh and cry with me.

What’s your comfort book/music/movie?

2 Responses to “The Standards”

  1. meldoesgradschool June 26, 2008 at 4:52 pm #

    Thanks for telling me about your new blog address! I updated my bookmarks and such…

    And I know exactly how you feel about the wedding thing… I appreciate that people let me bring a date because it implies that I could find one IF I wanted one, but still… it sucks. And then getting advice from these people while they pretend to know what it’s like to be me, despite the fact that they have been with the same person since the beginning of college, while I literally completely support myself. Yup, they obviously “get it.”

    If I need a good cry, “Steel Magnolias” and “Elizabethtown” are pretty awesome, if I want a laugh, I go for the Will Ferrell and Ben Stiller classics (“Zoolander,” “Anchorman”, “Talladega Nights” and so on). I also kind of enjoy “John Tucker Must Die” to just be dumb and silly and hate men with… though I might never admit that publicly again! :o) I’ll have to try some of your standards… though I can’t watch romantic comedies while throwing myself a pity party!

  2. oh June 28, 2008 at 12:33 pm #

    My comfort book? geez, do I have one? or is it the stack of books? Maybe Mary Oliver’s poetry. She lines everything simple in such rich angles. Comfort movie: absolutely French Kiss. (I’m so deep). And comfort music? I think, surprisingly, it must be Tom Waits. (I didn’t even know that ’til I saw him in concert the other night.)

Leave a Reply

