The Irishman does Chinese

27 Jun

Date #2 was last night.

He. COOKED. For. ME. At his condo, which, in case you wanted to know, is decorated and clean and doesn’t smell like a dirty boy. Rather refreshing.

I think one of the best things about the Irishman so far is ability to hold a conversation. We don’t talk sports, weather, drunken college stories, horrible relationship stories. We talk about time travel (I just finished the Time Traveler’s Wife and had many questions about it), music, writing (he has a journal!), art, inspiration, family, and some silly getting to know you questions. “If you could watch only one movie, everyday, for the rest of your life, what it would be?” (His: Snatch. Mine: The Notebook.) I can’t tell you how long it’s been, apart from a few guys here or there, since I’ve talked to an intelligent man.

We had mongolian beef and rice for dinner all supplied, prepared and served by him. I supplied wine and brownies.

I feel at ease with him for the most part which is new to me; a little self-conscious when I catch him staring at me; no, not the creepy kind of staring, but the kind of staring where they smile at you. The only two strikes so far: he doesn’t like Dave Matthews Band and he smokes when he drinks; we downloaded and listened to the Some Devil CD last night and he confessed he didn’t hate it, which is a start.

He offered to give me a foot rub but I declined as I don’t do feet. I don’t like other people’s feet touching me, I don’t like other people touching mine… it’s weird, I know, but it’s true. I offered him my hands instead and thanks to his sister being a masseuse and training him, I received two fantastic hand massages.

Massage + one glass of wine + comfy leather couch = 100% relaxed Nora.

For those of you who are wondering, yes, there was a first kiss last night. Think of the movie Spiderman (the upside down kiss) and that’s what it was like. Only not quite as hot. It’s a pretty awkward position to be in, let me tell you. His kissing style is a bit different so we’ll blame it on the wine or the fact that it was the first one… but it got much better.

There’s a third date in the works, likely sooner than later as he’s out of town next week and I’m in Houston the following week.

Stay tuned…

 

2 Responses to “The Irishman does Chinese”

  1. nova June 27, 2008 at 12:21 pm #

    I’m with you on the feet thingy. I don’t do feet either. It’s just… gross.

    Well, no guy is perfect and we can’t have everything we want in a guy, but I’d say this guy has potential. Intelligence and good conversation go a long way and can even help to override the not liking DMB and the smoking when drinking parts.

    Oh, and cooking for you and having a clean house doesn’t hurt either. ;-)

  2. laylou June 27, 2008 at 12:39 pm #

    Nova:
    I know there’s not such thing as a perfect guy. I was more shocked about the DMB thing than turned off by it. I’ve never met an “alternative,” guy who doesn’t like DMB. Truth: sometimes I think smoking is sexy though I don’t enjoy kissing the mouth ashtray.

Leave a Reply

