Fireworks War

5 Jul

My Staycation is coming to a close. Tomorrow I’m off to Texas for a week of conferences, Microsoft-speak, and meetings. I will admit I’m kind of tired of morning cartoons on tv, a lack of schedule, and feeling a tad lonely during the day. (Let’s face it, vacations/staycations are fun, but only when you have some to “play” with.)

Yesterday I headed out to the lake to visit a friend and her family for the yearly day in the sun, their rum punch (which I avoided as it’s terribly strong), junk food galore, and boat rides on the lake. I left before the fireworks started and as I was walking Jack last night in MWood, where fireworks were going off left and right, I floated back to 1993-1998 when Darling and the Boss would host a massive pool party/July 4th celebration. Our backyard was typically crawling with upwards of 30 adults and their respective children, coolers of drinks, trays and plates of delicious food and of course, bags of fireworks.

I’m not entirely sure when the fireworks war started, but at some point the Boy Next Door and the Boss began competing with each other for the best fireworks, the most unique firework, the one was the best crowd pleaser. The Boss and the Boy Next Door spent hundreds of dollars on these firework extravaganzas and the party-goers enjoyed a good two hours of fireworks, minimum.

At some point in the Boy Next Door’s high school career he stopped attending the party, meaning the firework competition more or less stopped, the party was smaller or some years not held at all, and I lost interest in fireworks.

I miss the days of floating in Darling and The Boss’ pool, staring at the fireworks (and occasionally the Boy Next Door), swimming with the little kids that I used to nanny, stuffing my face (without worry) full of junk food and really enjoying the 4th of July.

Now, at least among most of my friends, it’s another reason to go out and drink, seeing the fireworks are more of a difficult task than an excitement and I tend to find myself home early (which I’m actually okay with).

2 Responses to “Fireworks War”

  1. oh July 5, 2008 at 1:21 pm #

    The 4th was gorgeous, but different as we morph into the next family “definition” of the 4th. Who knows? May bring back the Big Party, or, take it somewhere else? (florida?)

  2. meldoesgradschool July 6, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    I know what you mean about losing the innocent sense of wonder involved in the 4th of July, or at least seeing that loss of innocence on the holiday that is so much fun for kids. But now it’s just a reason to drink, a reason to worry about drunk drivers, and the worry of who to spend the holiday with… but hopefully you found some joy in the occasion and in getting a mandatory break from work!

Leave a Reply

