Off the Market

15 Jul

Conversation with TDH, Saturday night during KH’s fantastic 24th Birthday Celebration.

Nora: So those are your friends? (He had just pointed me out of the crowd and a table of men were waving frantically at me.)
TDH: Yup. They wanted to know which one was my girlfriend.
Nora:… huh?
TDH: I mean, which girl I’m seeing.
Nora (giggles): Ah, okay.
TDH: Although, it has been close to seven or eight dates. That’s usually the threshhold for me in terms of that conversation.
Nora: Did you just ask me if I am your girlfriend?
TDH: Yeah, pretty much. So…?
Nora: You mean you don’t want to “kind of,” date me anymore (long story, inside joke)
TDH: Nope. I want to date only you. And I want you to date only me.
Nora: Okay, I think we can make that work.

( It was much cuter than it reads, I promise. Mostly because TDH has an adorable smile that was plastered to his face during this entire conversation. And I was caught off-guard. I mean, how often does a guy actually ask you to be his girlfriend like that?)

*****************

The next morning I changed my facebook status from “Single,” to “In a Relationship.” That means it’s really official.

2 Responses to “Off the Market”

  1. nova July 15, 2008 at 12:09 pm #

    I was all smiles reading this and it got me all gushy, mushy and giddy inside.

    I’m so ecstatically happy for you, girl! Hugs, hugs, hugs!

  2. meldoesgradschool July 16, 2008 at 11:29 pm #

    I hadn’t read your blog in a day or two and I feel like I missed so much – CRAZY! But I’m SOOOOOO excited for you about this – it sounds really really really crazy sweet! I’m really thrilled for you and it sounds like it’s going really well – can’t wait to read more about this and be crazy jealous/reminded of what I should be holding out for! :o)

Leave a Reply

