To HB or not to HB…

20 Jul

So the Former HB has resurfaced again. I may have mentioned that the night of my first date with TDH, Former HB informed me, via text of course, that he’s purchased a home about a block away from me. He’s moving in next week. He’s asked me to stop by (don’t worry, I won’t be doing that).

And remember Book Club? Well he’s offered to host the August book club at his new house. I bought the book yesterday and started reading it this morning at Bread Co with TDH (he’s reading a Chuck Klostermann) and so far it’s actually quite good. (We are reading Shadow of the Wind.)

At any rate, my not attending Book Club set off a wave of emails of people asking if I didn’t attend because of the Former HB (no, I was slightly hungover and spending time with TDH); that they would kick him out of book club but they don’t think that’s nice (agreed, we are all adults); would I attend the next one (not sure).

I have a potential out-of-town bridal shower in a few weekends, which happens to coincide with the next book club meeting, which I told the head organizer who I supposed told the Former HB as he sent me an email saying he’s bummed I can’t make it but should feel free to stop by his house at any time.

So as I was reading the book today TDH asked if I was going to the book club hosted by my ex. I said maybe, but if I do attend, that he (TDH) is more than welcome to attend.

The question: Do I go to book club so people realize I’m most certainly not afraid to show my face or do I say screw it and wait until a month when the Former HB isn’t hosting?

2 Responses to “To HB or not to HB…”

  1. anne July 21, 2008 at 9:36 pm #

    Screw it- out of respect for TDH.
    And even more so- you have nothing to prove or not prove to HB. He’s history and not worth another thought after the way he treated you. Now granted that’s me with overflowing wine glasses at the beach… but that is the way I see it.

  2. Nora July 22, 2008 at 8:15 am #

    Anne:
    I tend to agree with you… the more I think about it, the more annoyed I am with Former HB for contacting me at all. And I suppose I’m annoyed with myself for being nice. That settles it! I’m reading the book but not going to book club.

Leave a Reply

