Bouquets of Sharpened Pencils

1 Aug

(anyone know what movie the title of today’s blog is from?)

I had to run some work errands the other day at Office Max and though I had my lunch-hour tunnel vision on, I couldn’t help but notice all the back to school supplies. I mean, we are talking aisles and endcaps full of school supplies. Hannah Montana. Sparkly glitter. Transformers. Batman. Pink index cards. Too many different kinds of pens to count.

The smell of the new school supplies rushed me back to my first day of high school when I wore my very cool Calvin Klein pants with a great white top and white Keds (don’t laugh, they were cool… then), only to discover the A/C was out that day. Not only was I hot, at one point in my attempt to climb the stairs I tripped UP the stairs and landed on my hands and knees. Yes, that’s how I started my high school career.

I remember the nights before school started, the anxiety, the checking and re-checking of my backpack to make sure every school supply I could possibly need was in there, labeled and ready to go. During my summers I longed for the day the school supply list was published as it meant that Darling and I would make a trip to Target or Office Max and pick out each item I would need. Apparently I was a bit of a dork.

My favorite thing to purchase, and even to this day? The planner. I know, I know, I’m in IT, I should use my blackberry and synch it to Outlook, but I don’t. I like to write things down. Commit them to memory. I’ve used the same kind for the last two years but lately it’s collecting dust on my nightstand as I seem to prefer to clog my brain with the dates, rather than write them down and then use it as a reference. I should probably change that.

As I’ve mentioned my fabulous grad school classes (two finance courses) start in less than three weeks. I don’t really need a new notebook, but I want one. And have a can full of pens so I don’t really need to purchase those either, but I might. I still get anxious about the first day of school and arrive at least 30 minutes early. You never know if they change the room and you’ll have to walk clear across campus in your work clothes to make it for the 5:30 start.

So what about you? What’s one thing you look forward to purchasing each year?

2 Responses to “Bouquets of Sharpened Pencils”

  1. oh August 1, 2008 at 10:26 pm #

    what’s the movie, do tell!

    As for my favorite back-to-school-time-of-year purchase? hmmmm…well there’s the fall VOGUE I always look forward to and get all excited about it and don’t even open it for the first few days it’s in the house in order to better savor it…

  2. schmeggo August 2, 2008 at 10:27 pm #

    I looked it up …you’ve got mail…I knew I’d heard it!!!!
    I still am a geek. I got a job at a school to buy supplies:)
    I’m trying to understand the labeling…I was a pen person myself.

Leave a Reply

