Blog Break

6 Aug

I’ve been finding it difficult to write lately mostly because what I’m thinking of/about, want to share, need to discuss seems too personal… or I’m too afraid to put it out there.

Nothing bad is going on, in fact it’s all fascinating, amazing, breathtaking at times, while occasionally being a tad bit scary and overwhelming in the best way (if that makes sense?)

I’m approaching my 25th birthday and things are finally falling into place. I feel more at peace with myself in many respects, who I’ve become, what I think, where I’m going with my life (alright, I don’t really know that but the point is I’m okay with that). I’m finally going to be living on my own for the first time in 25 years and to me that’s a huge accomplishment. I’m financially independent. I own my car. Have a great dog. Own over 40 pairs of shoes and have a closet full of clothes and accessories to match. (Silly, but I think that’s an improtant aspect of a young woman’s professional career.) I’m pursuing higher education, I read for fun, follow the news enough to be informed but not so much that I’m afraid to go outside.

I’ve surrounded myself with a fabulous network of friends and family who are there anytime I need them. I’m actually seeing a guy who is amazing and makes me laugh and smile more than I remember ever doing in previous relationships.

I suppose I struggle with the fear of sharing too much, having it discovered, it jinxing me. I also wonder if some of my stupid previous relationship hang-ups will ever go away.

I guess I need to shut the world out for a few hours, put pen to paper and just write, not being afraid of what I might discover.

I think I’m taking a blog hiatus for awhile… (knowing me it won’t be more than three or four days). I hope to return re-energized. Or maybe I’ll start taking suggestions about what to write about? Anything you guys are dying to know that I don’t mention or talk about? I’m open to new ideas…

Hugs as always,
Nora

3 Responses to “Blog Break”

  1. nova August 6, 2008 at 4:30 pm #

    Well, my dear girl, you’ve been having quite a whirlwind of a summer, and it’s totally understandable that you need a little “me” time to just chill out and take it all in, so to speak. You’ve been having a wonderful time with your new man, and in many ways, that can be a little daunting, even scary, because it sets you up for a fall if things do not work out. On top of all that, you’re moving into a place all on your own, you’re taking Master’s classes… honey, you’ve got a full plate! You’re definitely in a major transitional phase, all in good ways, but it’s totally human and normal to have apprehensions about all these changes, even if they are good.

    So, take all the “me” time you need to re-set, ponder, release, and renew. It will be good for you. ♥

    And as for suggestions on what to write… well, only you know what’s best. Writing is always at it’s best when it’s written from your heart.

    xoxoxo

  2. anne August 6, 2008 at 10:20 pm #

    I could feel this coming…. I agree with Nova, you have a full plate and all kinds of exciting transitions. As much as we all appreciate how open and willing you are to beautifully share your thoughts, I think we also understand that everyone needs a break now and then.

    I will admit I may go into withdrawal. I have about 8 sites I check daily and of course you are at the top of the list.

    Enjoy TDH, let us know if you need help moving and keep being you. When you are ready to come back I’ll be here !

    See you soon- Anne

  3. oh August 8, 2008 at 7:49 am #

    I too am a faithful reader. It fills things in between our phone calls and/or visits. But writers have to step away now and then. Recharge. See what stories are there are to tell. See what wisdom they have garnered.
    It’s all good. Enjoy. (and write in your journal, for Pete’s sake. You’re a good writer.)

Leave a Reply

