The Crazy Box Lady

14 Aug

I picked up the keys to my new apartment last night. Technically, as far as my landlord is concerned, I’m not moving into until today. However, I couldn’t resist taking a look around the apartment last night to get a feel for my new home for the next year.

It’s clean, open, and slightly daunting. I know that I will love living on my own but right now it’s kind of terrifying. Confession: I started crying last night after ManMate left for work. I haven’t seen much of him outside of the gym in the last month since he stays with his girlfriend every night but I’ve lived with him for two years. He’s the one responsible for my health and fitness goals. He’s the guy who’s been there to offer to beat up the jerks I’ve dated, to take the trash out, to walk Jack when I’m sick. I know that I have TDH to fill-in, but it’s different.

ManMate historically doesn’t talk to many people socially purely out of time constraints and lack of money so I know that since we no longer live with each other I will only see him once or twice a week at the gym. It really does sadden me. He’s been an amazing friend and we’ve been good for each other in many ways.

So, last night, in an effort to not feel sad and instead be exited, I started moving boxes into my place (mostly so I could empty them out and re-pack them), threw some clothes in the closet, took my shoes over and put food in my cupboards.

TDH stopped by last night and I took him to the new place where he played the role of concerned boyfriend, opening every door and cupboard, checking out my appliances and locks. He was jealous of my kitchen since it’s big and open, while his is more of a galley kitchen. He of course gave his approval and hugged me in the middle of the living room saying he can’t wait to hang out in the new place which I take to mean he could sense my apprehension.

The move continues tonight, all small things and boxes will be vacated and then tomorrow TDH and my fabulous younger brother will help with the couch, entertainment appliances, bed and heavy stuff that I just can’t lift on my own.

I hope to have the place 75% situated by Sunday so if all goes to plan, I’ll post pictures, just for fun.

I love being a twenty something. The adventures never cease.

3 Responses to “The Crazy Box Lady”

  1. meldoesgradschool August 14, 2008 at 12:02 pm #

    Congratulations on your new place! That’s so exciting! I just moved into my own place about a year ago (holy crap, I can’t believe it’s been so long) and I really LOVE it. I suppose that it can be lonely, but having TDH will make it much nicer and much less lonely. As will girly nights that turn into sleepovers and I don’t care how cheesy that sounds!

    And thanks for your note and support. It’s taken me awhile to get to the point where I know I’m not a fuck-up, but I do now and I’m happy with my life right now. But it’s just odd to be shifted from the role of irresponsible kid to adult and support system so quickly and I’m okay with it, I just don’t know how to do it. Not for my mom. I can get over the stuff in the past and be there for her, it’s just odd and I still feel like I’m supposed to say the right thing to her because she’ll tell me when she doesn’t think I’m doing the right thing and tell me when I’m wrong much more so than anyone else in the world. And unfortunately she still has the power to hurt me. But less so than ever before. I’m figuring it out, I think. But I’m relieved I don’t have to deal with too much more right now. But thanks a million for being my own cheering section – it means more than I can say! Let me know how to do the same for you, or at least a little better… :o)

  2. R.Wick August 15, 2008 at 9:03 am #

    This is so exciting Nora! I can’t wait to see the pictures that you post. I am like a kid in a candy store moving to a new place and deciding where everything should go. Have fun with it. And, I am sure you will never be lonely b/c you will always have Jack, TDH and your vast network of friends to keep you company. I hope I am on the invite list sometime!

  3. oh August 15, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    So glad you’re still blogging! and yes, you’re right – you have a fabulous brother.

Leave a Reply

