Mel’s Wedding Songs

21 Aug

Two weekends ago Mel played a few songs she was contemplating as wedding songs to be sung just before the ceremony and the first dance song. We were all blubbering idiots at the Sunday breakfast table by the time she was done.

Since then, I’ve found this song totally and completely stuck in my head at the most random times which I take to be a sign that she chose the right song. Fortunately for me I believe this song will be performed before I walk down the aisle otherwise I don’t think any amount of waterproof mascara would work.

I know some of you don’t look at the videos I post, but this one is worth it, I promise. (Lady Antebellum & Jim Brickman, Never Alone.)

The more than likely first dance song, which I haven’t thought of as a love song until recently which also now draws tears to my eyes (I hope TDH is ready to see me cry! Damn weddings always get to me (Edwin McCain, I’ll Be):

And alternate, just for fun, Des’Ree, Kissing You, which has always made me cry even before Mel played it for us:

Bachelorette and bridal showers this weekend.
Dress fitting next Thursday for Bridesmaid Dress #7.
Wedding in four weeks.
I’m available as a professional bridesmaids to get me to “27 Dresses,” if you know anyone who needs help…

3 Responses to “Mel’s Wedding Songs”

  1. thedirtymartini August 21, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    Hey,
    I stumbled across your blog while tag surfing. Two points:
    1. “I’ll Be” is a hell of a karaoke song. I love it!

    and

    2. I picked “Kissing You” as my wedding song when I was in high school and it was on the Clare Danes/Leonardo DiCaprio Romeo & Juliet Soundtrack (Good CD!).

    Fine choices. Good luck this weekend!

  2. oh August 24, 2008 at 8:56 am #

    Whoa. Crying songs indeed, in the context of a wedding. I’m always surprised at what people choose, actually, at what songs they find.
    You are the best bridesmaid in the world – and apparently, the word has got out on it! I’ve got to see that movie “27 dresses.” I hope it’s hilarious. I’ve seen some of the stuff you do (and put up with), my beautiful gracious daughter!

  3. Stephanie August 24, 2008 at 4:40 pm #

    These are all really good songs! Gah, I can’t wait to get married.

Leave a Reply

