Seven Unspectacular Things about Myself- The FASHION Edition

4 Sep

Thanks to SheShe for tagging me in this Meme! I haven’t done one of these before so I’ll give it my best shot. (And it’s great to procrastinate just a little bit longer from my grad school homework.)

1. I would be happy wearing jeans, my pink Mizzou sweatshirt and running shoes everyday. To work. On dates. To the grocery store. To Church. Those are the clothes in which I can really be comfortable, feel like myself, move freely without pantyhouse or thongs or tailored work blouses constricting my movements. They may not be sexy but they are me. Although I suppose I can be me in my favorite little black dress too. I guess fashion is all about moods, right?  

2. 90% of my wardrobe comes from The Limited, Banana Republic and The Gap. Deep inside I think I would much rather dress like Charlotte from Sex and the City when I go to the office and to weddings. Secretly I want to dress like Carrie when I go out with the girls, with TDH and on the town. I want to wear bright colored bras under see-through shirts, but won’t because I’m sure people would think I’m copying or slutty. I don’t read a lot of fashion magazines becuase I realize what I pansy I am to not wear what I really want to.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. I wear my hair up, in the most boring ponytail ever: occasionally side-swept, occasionally with a slight Fergie poof for many days in a row. The causes of the laziness: Not enough sleep. Haven’t been to the gym. Lack of motivation.

4. When I was in fifth grade Darling took me on the back-to-school shopping spree. Always a bit ahead of the other girls in school I was tall, had breasts and hips before most did. For some reason I bought a completely tan outfit: tan stretch pants (they were cool then), a tan oversized v-neck sweater and the ugliest floral patterned fabric boots ever. I wore it the first day of school. My very creepy male teacher told me I looked like I was in my twenties. I never wore any of it again.

5. My sophomore year in high school I cut my hair short. Like boy short. I told people I did it because I ran track. I did it to be different. And I immediately hated it. I will never do that again.

6. I didn’t have my ears pierced until I was 10 so I wore those stick-on earrings that were in the shape of half-moons, stars, little diamond shapes. They were hideous. And I always lost one.

7. Sometimes I think my best fashion days are behind me. My baby pictures and pre-middle school days feature awesome outfits courtesy of Darling. I remember that when I started middle school Darling and I would go through my wardrobe and write on index cards all the different outfit combinations I had available to me. She doesn’t have to do that with me anymore, though I still value her opinion. She does, after all read Vogue on a regular basis.

Here are the rules:

Terms & Conditions of the Meme:

1. Link the person who tagged you
2. Mention the rules on your blog
3. List 6 unspectacular things about you
4. Tag 6 other bloggers by linking them

And my tags are: Darling, Kyla Bea, STeague, UberFrau, MelDoesGradSchool and Byron!

4 Responses to “Seven Unspectacular Things about Myself- The FASHION Edition”

  1. Kyla Bea September 5, 2008 at 9:11 am #

    Oh my gosh!! #4? What a strange comment for him to make! You summed it up so wonderfully though – that feeling of wanting to be cool and attractive and then immediately wanting to hide from any attention that garnered. That was my adolescence in a paragraph = )

    Thanks for the tag!

  2. laylou September 5, 2008 at 2:14 pm #

    Kyla: Yes, he was definitely one of the weirder teachers we had at our school. He did actually get in trouble the following year for allegedly molesting a girl. I’m glad I steered clear of him.

    Enjoy the tag if you have time!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Something of a full moon « Kyla Bea - September 8, 2008

    […] kick start it further, I was tagged by Laylou in a fashion meme! Six Unspectacular Things About Myself, The Fashion Edition so here you […]

  2. Kyla Roma » Blog Archive » Something of a full moon - July 16, 2009

    […] kick start it further, I was tagged by Laylou in a fashion meme! Six Unspectacular Things About Myself, The Fashion Edition so here you […]

Leave a Reply

