Window Shouter

7 Sep

The Setting: Friday eve, close to midnight, TDH and I in my car, driving back from my friends bonfire.

The Topic: I took a not so fast shortcut through my high school boyfriends neighborhood because I was tired of highway driving and was, well, tired.

Driving through my ex’s neighborhood I recounted one evening, years and years and years ago when Darling and I took the same drive home. It must have been shortly after the break-up (we broke up twice, so not sure which one it was) and I was most definitely in college at the time. Darling dared me to roll down my window and say “F–K You!” as we drove past his house to get out the rage, anger, hurt, betrayal and etc I know I was holding inside me. She bet me $5 bucks.

I didn’t think I was going to do it until we were right next to his house. I rolled down my window. Stuck my head outside and shouted it at the top of my lungs. No one was outside. It was around 10 pm at night.

We both immediatley burst into fits and fits of giggles. I was laughing so hard I was crying. $5 richer. And believe it or not, a weight off my shoulders.

As I tell TDH this, we pass my ex’s house. TDH’s window was open. He shouts “F–K YOU!” really loudly as we drive past. I was in hysterics. When I caught my breath I asked him why he did that.

“Well besides the fact it’s a funny story, I have to take care of and protect my baby.”

One Response to “Window Shouter”

  1. Anne September 8, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    TDH is definitely a keeper….

Leave a Reply

