Meetin’ the Parents

8 Sep

I’m meeting the parents on Thursay.

I’m insanely nervous.

So far I’ve met all of his friends and they all really, genuinely like me. They request my presence at all of TDH’s events and always ask for me when I’m not there. They compliment me on my clothes, my baking, etc etc. I know I’m in with them.

Ah, but the family. That’s a different story. I will be meeting Mr. & Mrs. TDH, Sister #1 and her husband, grandma and Aunt TDH. Fortunately the other two sisters are in Australia so I don’t have to meet them… yet.

Not having met anyone’s family in over three years I’m not sure what to expect. I hang out with adults who are “older,” than me frequently, so I don’t know what my worry is. Except that they won’t like me.

I’m making brownies with a caramel swirl and grabbing a bottle of red wine (their favorite, I hear) in hopes that I can earn their like and trust through their stomachs.

My palms are getting sweaty as I type this. Fantastic.

4 Responses to “Meetin’ the Parents”

  1. nova September 8, 2008 at 3:41 pm #

    I know it’s so much easier said than done, but really, don’t worry! You are a fabulous girl, and if you just be yourself, they will all have no choice but to love you. It’s obvious that TDH is way, way into you, and if they see how happy you make him, they will love you even more.

    By the way, I love photos #1 and #5 from Canada. They were all great, but those two were my favorite.

  2. Liz September 8, 2008 at 4:22 pm #

    Just be yourself! If you are, then I’m sure they’ll love you, just like TDH.

    Also, if you’re going to be at their house, offer to help clean up – do dishes, set the table, whatever…parents LOVE that. And say positive uplifting things about their son. Stay away from sarcasm. I tend to be pretty sarcastic so I once made a joke about my now-husband (boyfriend at the time) to his parents and heard later that they thought I was disrespecting him. Apparently they didn’t get my joke.

  3. laylou September 9, 2008 at 8:37 am #

    Nova:
    Thanks for the encouraging words. Photo #1 is definitely my favorite and Photo #5 captures the essence of the dancefloor I think. I actually have a video of TDH dancing but I think he’d be mortified if I put it up… but maybe I will :)

    Liz:
    Good call on the joke thing. I tend to make jokes when I’m nervous so I’ll make sure to just smile instead! I’m a big kitchen person so I’ll be more comfortable talking to his mom in the kitchen doing dishes so it was already on my mind!

  4. nova September 9, 2008 at 11:30 am #

    If you put up the video, we won’t tell! ;-)

Leave a Reply

