Sigh of Relief

12 Sep

You probably want to know the end before you hear the beginning, right?

The End: Hugs all around. His Gram hugged me first, followed by his Aunt who told said that I’m “easy to be around, so natural and comfortable and I like that you hug.” His father said “God Bless You,” which made me happy in several ways, his mom invited me back next Thursday. I suppose I’m in, right?

The Beginning: Driving to his parents house, out in the country on their land/golf course, my palms were sweating, stomach churning, breath short and quick. I couldn’t look at TDH. I couldn’t sing to my favorite song on the radio. I couldn’t think of anything except not tripping and falling over my words or my feet. Couldn’t think of anything except how badly I wanted to dazzle his family. TDH’s comment: “I like that you are nervous. It means you really like me.” (Uh, hello!? Of course I really like you.)

The Middle: His dad met us at the door with two dogs at his feet.  We had the wonderful allergy conversation within the first two minutes of my getting there (dinner was salmon and I can’t have fish either) so his father hustled to make me a burger, despite my protestations that I could eat the sides, no problem. There was no awkward Church talk, though I was prepared for it. During Grace (a custom I am used to), his mom included me… “we are so glad to meet Nora. Bless the time we have with her and thank you for bringing her to us.” It gave me goosebumps.

His mom and I bonded in the kitchen after dinner while cleaning up, over her daughter’s recent wedding in Ireland, my bridesmaid adventures and other randomness. I figure once you are in with the Mom, you are usually pretty safe.

TDH told me on our way home he’s glad he took me, glad I’ll go back and he was exceptionally lovey last night. Which is fine with me.

3 Responses to “Sigh of Relief”

  1. Liz September 12, 2008 at 9:57 am #

    Sounds like a smashing success! Bravo!

  2. anne September 12, 2008 at 2:45 pm #

    I would have expected nothing less than brilliance from you….. so happy they saw what the rest of us see. A thoughtul, intelligent, giving, beautiful woman.

    I’m so happy for you and TDH.

  3. Nova September 13, 2008 at 7:45 am #

    I agree with Anne. We all knew they would love you. The real test was whether you would like them! :-)

Leave a Reply

