Hippy Nora

16 Sep

My back, injured by the stupid red couch move, is doing much better. At the recommendation of my Physical Therapist friends, TDH, Kel and my parents I realized that as much as I love my chiropractor (I owe her a lot for the TDH set-up) it wasn’t fixing the problem.

Yesterday I went to a physical therapist who comes highly-recommended by Little Man’s mom. I was nervous, as I always am during doctor’s visits. It didn’t entirely help that the woman across from me was telling me about her degenerative back problems and that I should see a neurologist and make sure I haven’t torn my ligaments, that I don’t have a bulging disc. She went on and on, I presume because her husband wasn’t in the waiting room with her.

The experience was overwhelming positive. An hour later I walked away with a number of stretches and strengthening exercises to do, realized that for all my working out my gluteus medius is not strong enough (though the maximus and minimus are hanging in there), and a positive feeling about the fact that in four to six weeks I can do my full gym routine. In the meantime I’m allowed to walk and bike and do weights. Not my normal gym-fix, but it will have to do.

I laughed at myself as I managed to mess up my pelvis, hips and tailbone in only a way that is true to me. (When I get sick or hurt myself, I go all the way: broken ankle in three places, emergency appendectomy, a two inch thorn lodged in my food, sinus surgery, tonsilectomy…) My right hip is sitting higher than my left by about an inch, my tailbone is twisted up and to the left. Sounds glorious, right?

I celebrated by taking Jack for a very fast two mile walk in the fabulous fall breeze last night, leaves scuttling around our feet, before settling in for a night of studying. (It’s midterm week!)

I feel empowered. I know that everything will be back to normal soon. I can’t wait!

Now, if only I could remember to not cross my legs when I’m sitting at my desk we’ll be good to go…

4 Responses to “Hippy Nora”

  1. MKSOL September 17, 2008 at 12:03 am #

    Take care of yourself all the time.. ;)

  2. R.Wick September 17, 2008 at 9:18 am #

    Ouch! Hope you are all healed really soon. I too have the one-hip-bone-higher thing. Seems to have adjusted itself out over the years. Two major items…..I NEVER sit with my foot tucked under my behind anymore (was my main way of sitting in my past – not sure if you do that) and ONLY wear heals out with friends and hubby – not at work (thus my fetish with cute pointy toe or ballet flats – ask hubby – it is an addiction). Never have back/hip pain now. Feels good.

  3. laylou September 17, 2008 at 11:05 am #

    MKSOL: I am so thankful for PTs, you have no idea =)

    RWick: I have a heel obsession but I suppose I’ll have to stop that. Wearing flats has helped a great deal so I suppose I’ll be heading to DSW in the near future to stock up on some cute flats. Any particular shoe store suggestions for such shoes?

  4. R.Wick September 19, 2008 at 9:44 am #

    I like DSW, Nordstrom and Target for my flats. I have grown to love flats. Although, I do agree that a pair of heels on any women makes them look fabulous.

    P.S. Nice I spelled heels wrong in my last comment. Ouch, I hate reading my own mistakes.

Leave a Reply

