Melange of topics…

18 Sep

I’m having blog-block lately. Too much on the brain I suppose, and as my regular readers know, it’s a cycle that I go through. So here’s the skinny…

  • TDH wants my blog address. I have read him snippets before, mostly from our earlier days of dating (it really seems like it’s been longer than three months), but I haven’t showed him the URL. I have mixed feelings about giving him my URL. I suppose it couldn’t hurt but I’d have to doubly watch what I say and I don’t know if I want to censor myself that much.
  • I’m wearing dress # 7 next Saturday at Mel’s wedding. Yes, it’s already here. I’ve known Mel for seven years and I’ve known Mel with Corey for three of those years. I can’t believe that one of my best friends who really, truly gets me, without judgment, is going to be married. Of course I get completely emotional thinking about when I walk down the aisle, when she does, when they say their I-Dos and so much more. I’m especially nervous this time as this is the first time I’ve ever had a date to a wedding that I’ve been in, meaning TDH will be watching me walk down the aisle. I don’t know if I’ll be able to make eye contact with him! And with Mel’s wedding that leaves a handful of us not engaged or married…
  • Three Words. No, TDH and I have not said those three words that many people wish/want/hope to hear. Many people have asked, so I thought I’d just put it out there. That’s not say I don’t want to hear them or haven’t necessarily thought them but after the LAST time I said them to a guy (his response: “Wow, that’s awesome, great,” as he walks away fro me) I am definitely not uttering them no matter how badly I want to say it.
  • Health & Wealth. So I can’t run for six weeks. It’s causing me to go stir-crazy in away. Fall is my favorite time of year and with optimal weather I want to get outside and run as far and as fast I can. Stupid, crooked hips. I feel gross and mushy. I don’t feel as sexy and as hot as I did when I first met TDH which is causing me to be grumpy, not put myself together for days at the office and a general feeling of blah-ness. I don’t think it helps that I don’t make enough time for myself, constantly trying to see everyone, do everything, be a people-pleaser. I am craving a night on the couch, in my sweats, with a greasy pizza from Pizza Hut (ha, that’s good for the blah-ness, right?) and a stack of chickflicks.  Alone.
  • My apartment. I finally have some pictures on the wall and last Wednesday I entertained Kel and TLo for a lovely wine, cheese and girl night. We had so much fun we are making it a bi-weekly event with different food and drink themes, just to keep it interesting. I am to the point now when I’m home (see, I called it home!) it feels good to be there, like it’s my space and not an empty shell. Jack has finally adjusted to the new digs and apart from when he acts semi-depressed because TDH isn’t there, he does well. (The other night he looked around for TDH… the bed, the kitchen, the living room… and when he didn’t see TDH he jumped on the couch and made a show of sticking his head under the throw pillows. Dramatic dog. But totally adorable.)
  • Family Dinner. I mentioned I was invited back to TDH’s family dinner, so off we go this evening to celebrate Gram’s 80th birthday and for me to meet the only sister who lives in the U.S. One is coming back permanently in November (the one TDH is closest with) and I’m supernervous about that, just cause, as a sister, I know how we can be when it comes to our brother’s girlfriends.
  • Birthday. OMG. My quarterlife birthday is coming up in 10 days. I have been ignoring it. Avoiding it. Shoving it off to the corners of my mind. I know it’s not old. I know it’s a milestone. It’s also a reminder of where I am in my life, and it’s not really where I thought I would be… not that where I am is bad. It’s just different. I suppose it’s time to set new goals and make new lists of fun things I want to do but in the meantime I’m ignoring my birthday as much as possible. The only exciting part? TDH evidently purchased two presents for me, and from what he has suggested they are rather expensive. Hmmmm…
2 Responses to “Melange of topics…”

  1. She She September 18, 2008 at 12:38 pm #

    I gave my URL to my father, and it’s censored me terribly. Just FYI.

    Happy early birthday!

  2. nova September 18, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    Part of the fun of blogging is the anonymity of it, and knowing that you can spill your guts out without fear of judgment from family and friends. My husband knew of an old blogger site of mine, and sometimes he would read it, and we’d get into huge fights about it.

    “Why did you write that?” “What the hell is that supposed to mean?” “How come you never write about me???”

    That’s been my experience with letting a significant other know about my blogsite.

    One of the things in life that I cannot stand is not being able to work out like I want. It turned me into a manic-depressive bitch. I sympathize with you. Hanging out in sweats with a greasy pizza really sounds good right about now.

    Little Nora is growing up. :-)

Leave a Reply

