Celery, Carrots & Soy… oh my!

23 Sep

I went to the allergist last Friday since my heightened, more frequent reactions have been disturbing not only my daily routine but my piece of mind as well.

I have new! Improved! Food! Allergies! (Big surprise, right?) They are independent of my oral food allergies, meaning I can’t eat them regardless of where they come from.

So in addition to every fruit, vegetable and nut that grown on a tree or in the ground where they are poisoned by pollen, the very same pollen that my body detests, I can’t eat: celery, carrots, soy, peanuts, oranges and seasame seeds. I can’t have these foods in any form… zest, seed, paste, etc.

Fortunately for me, except for the soy (it’s in a lot of the more healthful foods I eat) and seasame seeds (buh-bye hummus, yummy bagels from Panera and certain other breads), those aren’t food I eat often due to the oral food allergies.

Wondering what I can eat? It’s a much shorter list than the allergic foods: meat (except fish), dairy, bread, broccoli, green beans, corn, pasteurized/processed fruit juice and wine. That’s all folks.

4 Responses to “Celery, Carrots & Soy… oh my!”

  1. She She September 23, 2008 at 2:23 pm #

    What a bummer, Nora. Soy is everywhere.

    Thank god for the wine, though.

  2. Anne September 24, 2008 at 12:21 pm #

    Oh Nora- I’m sorry you have confirmation of more allergies.

    Sending non-soy hugs your way.

    I second She She, thank God for the wine….. would be a mean joke if you were allergic to that as well.

  3. Little Miss Obsessive September 24, 2008 at 4:20 pm #

    Hey.. I think I have those oral allergies you are talking about (that have to do with pollen). I’ve had seasonal allergies for years then all the sudden, I noticed, I couldn’t eat raw carrots any more, or apples, or many of my other fave fruits and veggies (unless cooked! if they are cooked, i am fine). I found this so strange and then one day my College Roomie was reading a magazine which described exactly my dilemma, which is how I found out it was actually related to my seasonal allergies. As if the sniffling, sneezing and itchy eyes weren’t enough, that biatch Pollen had to take away our enjoyment of some delish fruits and veggies too. Hmmph!

  4. laylou September 25, 2008 at 9:43 am #

    SheShe: yes, without wine life would be dull!

    Anne: It’s going to be an adjustment but I’m already walking on eggshells with my food so I suppose I’ll be fine!

    Little Miss: Yup, sounds like you’ve got what I’ve got. I can have some of the foods cooked as well, but unfortunately for me a lot of them make me want to gag. I can’t eat a cooked apple for the life of me! I survive with V8 fruit juice and one-a-day vitamins.

Leave a Reply

