25, Part Two

1 Oct

I’m 25. I don’t feel much different, though I’ve noticed a few more white hairs popping out of my head. No worries, though, the side part is becoming to me and my hair dye is cheap. I feel older and I’ve been having “older,” thoughts as of late.

Talking with KH last week I realized that I. AM. READY. TO. SETTLE. DOWN. Typing it sends shivers up my spine. I probably break out in hives. But I am. I’m really ready. Back in my “younger,” years I told myself I’d be married by 24, kid #1 by 28, and kid #2 by 30. I wanted to be one of those young, hip moms.

One of my friends commented on how much I’ve changed (she was at the wedding on Saturday as well). The ring bearer, an adorable nine-month-old, stole everyone’s hearts, including mine. I got to hold him several times over the weekend. I declared that I want one. When ED heard me say that she exclaimed “You? You want to settle down? I’ve never seen you like this!” She’s right. A switch has kind of flipped in the last few months. I want it all. A husband. A house. A dog. A baby. Surely not all right this moment, lets not rush things, but over time, with the right man, in the right place, and it will happen. I feel it.

Maybe 25 isn’t a crisis so much as a jumping ground. This is when your life starts to happen in a big, big way. Whatever it is, I’m ready. Bring it.

2 Responses to “25, Part Two”

  1. Nova October 1, 2008 at 9:33 pm #

    Happy (belated) birthday!

    Sort of like how they say you “just know” when you’ve met “the one,” I think you also “just know” when you’re ready to settle down. You sort of start to feel a craving, a hunger for that settled life.

    I miss being 25/in my early 20s. Those days were some of the best I’ve ever had.

  2. butterflycharlie October 5, 2008 at 5:38 pm #

    Hi Nora – have just stumbled across your blog tonight! I turned 25 a few months ago and felt suddenly switched on in a whole new way. I’m not quite ready to settle down but maybe one day i’ll be grown up like you ;-)

    Char x

Leave a Reply

