Tanking Economy = Thrifty Nora

7 Oct

Alright, so things here in the U.S. just aren’t so great right now. I’ll admit to being an American who turns a blind eye to the news when things aren’t as smiley/sunshiney/happy as they should be. Ignorance really is bliss, until you look at your stocks, your 401(k) and the price of gas.

This isn’t to say I’m naive and totally unaware of what is lurking behind every dark corner on Wall Street. I am aware. I would be lying if I said it doesn’t scare me because it does.

Last night while washing my face, using toner and moisturizing I realized I look like a bathroom product addict. Thanks to Bath n’ Body Works Clearance Sales, weddings (yes, brides really do give good presents! I have oodles of mini-toiletries) and taking things from hotel rooms, my medicine cabinet and storage bins below the sink are full of product. I made a pledge to myself: I will use them all, until they are gone, before buying new product. I. WILL.

Thanks to a shopping spree from Darling (birthday present) and a bit of extra cash (hallelujah security deposits… don’t worry, I was smart and saved some and used some for other bills), I was able to purchase a few new staples and refreshers to my wardrobe. All on sale, I might add. Dating TDH who has an alternative sense of style, and also trying to find my own “corporate meets sexy meets young professional look,” I’ve been experimenting with my clothes. And I’m loving it. It’s forcing me to look at new combinations in the pieces I already have, while buying key pieces that can go with many different choices, jackets, pants, shoes, jewlery. Ah, if I could spend my day in the Vogue dressing room…

I digress. I made another promise to myself yesterday: no new clothes until after Christmas; I can’t resist a good sale at The Limited, The Gap, or Banana Republic. I just can’t.

I have made small changes to my monthly purchases. Netflix movies down from three-at-a-time to two-at-a-time. From unlimited texts to 1,000 texts. I’m not afraid to buy generic brand products anymore. Sometimes they are better, sometimes they are not. All small changes that make me feel better, even if they don’t change the fact that an economic recession is looming.

What are you doing or do you suggest to help save a few bucks and “protect” yourself from the upcoming recession?

4 Responses to “Tanking Economy = Thrifty Nora”

  1. Kyla Bea October 8, 2008 at 11:33 am #

    Oh I’m all for thriftiness, I feel like with the new house and puppies and wedding we’ve been throwing money out the window as soon as it arrives or faster.

    My main contribution is that I’m on a cash budget every week. I have $60 to spend on personal variable spending (ie – eating out, clothes for fun) and then once the money is gone I stay in for the rest of the week. It’s an *awesome* way to save, and it means that if I want a fancy item here and there it’s not a big guilt thing to wait a week, tuck the cash away, and buy it the next week.

  2. butterflycharlie October 8, 2008 at 4:43 pm #

    I’m suddenly all about the no-name products and I’m even considering having my hair cut at the really cheap hairdressers called Super Cuts, despite my friend being there several times and always coming back hideously lopsided….but hey, we gotta save those pennies! x

  3. Liz October 9, 2008 at 9:51 am #

    I’ve always been pretty thrifty, but now I’m trying to cut back on all the little extra – like Starbucks, or going out to eat all the time. I figure, if I eat less, I’ll spend less money and maybe even lose a few pounds!

  4. laylou October 9, 2008 at 12:41 pm #

    Kyla: Cash budget = great idea. I think I will revert to that. Currently I mentally keep track of what I spend each week and make sure not to exceed my weekly amount as I’m a debit card user. I shall work to change that!

    Char: I have gotten my hair cut at those places and really it is not so bad. I have had some great hair cuts and some that were marginal. Caught up on your blog yesterday and love it, by the way.

    Liz: I am fortunate in that I don’t like coffee, if I did, I know I’d be at Starbucks too. TDH and I have been making a conscious effort to cook for each other more and before we go meet up with friends to take care of the dining out experiences. I like the way you think, it surely should be healthier to eat at home, right?

Leave a Reply

