Movie Review: Rock n Rolla

2 Nov

TDH is obsessed with Guy Ritchie movies so when he saw that Rock n Rolla hit theaters, he nearly begged me to go with him. My selling point? Gerard Butler (300, P.S. I Love You), and Guy Ritchie does some great work (Snatch, Lock Stock & Two Barrels), so I gladly agreed to go.

Coming in just under two hours long, the movie packs some great lines, attractive men and a typical Guy Ritchie interwoven plot. Certainly not his best work, perhaps due to the fact there has been some turmoil in his home life for the last few years, but entertaining nonetheless.

Gerard Butler is still darling and sexy with his swagger, his messy Irish accent.

Tom Wilkinson plays an evil, evil man, which is hard for me to watch since he’s one of my favorite old-man actors but delivers his lines with authenticity and commands excellent screen presence.

My suggestion: Wait for it to come out to rent, it’s not quite worth the $9 per person.
What irked me? Thandie Newton, Bond girl and Crash co-star has lost too much weight.
What I loved? The varying British and Irish accents in the movie, the London scenery, and the what comes around goes around plot.

One Response to “Movie Review: Rock n Rolla”

  1. Regine Risser September 28, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    Hi, This movie is awesome, and I’ve got it on my own must watch list!

Leave a Reply

