Addendum to yesterday’s post

4 Nov

I suppose it’s hard to really get to know the people whose blogs we read. Do my readers really get me? Do they really know me? Sometimes I think yes, perhaps even more than my “real” friends. Other times I panic that I’m being judged for something I’ve posted.

So with that in mind… No, it doesn’t scare me that TDH said that. In fact, I found it refreshing and relieving. Yes, it’s not been that long, but this man, this relationship, they are different than anything else I’ve experienced through my 10 years of dating.

Without sounding too Jerry Maguire, TDH completes me. I can’t exactly explain it, but for once in my life, there is a part of me that doesn’t feel empty, that doesn’t nag at me.

My friends who do know me in person have been telling me for years that I would probably meet the man of my dreams and the rest would happen in a whirlwind. Why? They know my propensity for love, my passionate nature, my hopeless romantic true-self (who is slowly returning).

My father told me about two years ago when I was at a very low-point in my dating life that  when I was born he had a dream I marry in the year 2010. I’m not saying that I’m working toward that date; as a matter of fact, I laughed at my dad when he said that. Now? It doesn’t seem completely impossible.

I have always believed in true love, but I never believed in the “you’ll know when it’s the right one,” statement. Now? I’m singing a different tune.

I have no idea what will happen, when or how it will happen, but if time had to stand still and my life were stuck exactly as the way it is today, I’d be okay with it because I’m with TDH.

6 Responses to “Addendum to yesterday’s post”

  1. anne November 4, 2008 at 9:21 am #

    Don’t panic about the judgment. I am finally realizing in my life that we will always be judged. What really matters is owning your decisions, opinions and life. There will always be nay-sayers, people that think you are making a mistake, etc.

    In fact Big D and I had a long conversation about it last night. We are aware of judgments and they still hurt sometimes. But we are also realizing that the judgment is usually not about us, but the person passing the judgment.

    I appreciate your willingness to share- your posts are refreshingly honest. You and TDH are on a beautiful ride, enjoy it. We knew…. and we knew early that we were the real deal. I’m so happy for you !

    Happy Voting Day !!

  2. She She November 4, 2008 at 12:08 pm #

    That’s lovely. Don’t overthink it. Just enjoy it.

  3. R.Wick November 4, 2008 at 12:40 pm #

    Trust your heart – it always knows the right answer – and it sounds like you definitely know the right answer! Sometimes that pesky brain gets in the way. Gosh, I get excited just reading your blog. We all love a great love story!

  4. laylou November 4, 2008 at 2:49 pm #

    Anne: Thanks for always supporting me!

    SheShe: Okay. You convinced me! I shall just enjoy it.

    RWick: Glad you enjoy reading. I’m getting better at quieting the brain and opening up the heart… just takes practice. Hopefully I’ll have more love-story type stuff to write about in the future :)

  5. Kyla Bea November 6, 2008 at 11:20 pm #

    For what it’s worth, I think I have an idea of what you’re going through and I sympathize. I’ve almost always been the only one of my friends in a serious relationship and now to be married?

    Where being in a relationship freaked them out, being married at 23 means I must have some kind of terribly debilitating disease that has yet to manifest its self in a way that they can see, and I’m trying to get locked in fast.

    The pressure and expectations other people can place on your relationship is hard to manage, and at the same time completely trivial – it has everything to do with them and nothing to do with you guys. You’re in a good place, that’s amazing!

    Enjoy it, it’s an incredible secret between the two of you = )

  6. imogenc November 7, 2008 at 11:07 am #

    I worry about being “judged” by the people that read my blog too, sometimes. But then I remember it’s supposed to be my place to rant, bare all and, well, just be me…no questions asked. And I take a deep breath ;)

    I do wish you all the best with your Irishman! May you both always be happy & true to each other!

Leave a Reply

