Still in shock… and other Nora ramblings

6 Nov

I can’t really believe that we elected a brand new President on Tuesday. A brand new Democrat, married with children, African American. I wake up each day expecting to find the Republicans contesting the election, declaring a recount, a new vote. I emit a sigh of relief when I realize this hasn’t happened.

I know that I am just one person but for the first time in a long time I have hope and faith in our government. I know it’s going to take work from all aspects of our society but I think maybe, just maybe, America is ready for it? If nothing else we owe it to ourselves, our elders, our children and the children we haven’t yet had, our neighboring countries, our allies, and hell, even our enemies to become a better country. To become better people. I think we are all in for quite a ride.

*****************************

In an attempt to let TDH know my dedication to him and that I’m working on things as a person/woman/girlfriend, I shared The Other post with him. He admitted on Tuesday evening after dinner with his family and drinks with his friend that he had read my blog one or two times prior to that. Sneaky Irishman! I probably shouldn’t have said this but I told him if he wants to read it, he can, under one condition: he can’t mad about anything I write on here. This is my outlet, my journal, my freedom. We shall see.

***************************

Do you ever have a day, a few days or even a week where you feel like you are living in a fog? I am having one of those super-emotional weeks and as usual I can’t find the reason for it. My bills are all paid. Jack is healthy. My parents are fine (actually more than fine, hanging out on a beach for a few days the lucky ducks!). My brother is rockin’ the journalism world at his University. TDH and I are in a great place in our realtionship. School, though challenging, is moving right along. My friends are just as busy as I am with work, relationships, etc. I can’t tell if it’s because I need more sleep, more exericse, a week without anything actually scheduled on the calendar… I can’t tell what it is and it’s making me crazy. I cried, yes, that’s right, cried when I heard a song on the radio that reminded me of my dad. And watching Gilmore Girls last night, an episode I have seen a dozen times probably? Yup, that’s right more tears. I’m going to chalk it up to exhaustion and the fact that I overextend myself on a regular basis. So the plans for this weekend, aside from TDH’s surprise birthday plans and a dinner party Saturday night include sleeping, running, sleeping, running, studying and relaxation time with TDH. That’s it. I’m not answering my phone. I’m not grocery shopping. I’m not running errands.

************************

Nora is a huge dork! Why? My friends and I prepurchased our tickets to see Twilight, the movie in a few weeks.

4 Responses to “Still in shock… and other Nora ramblings”

  1. butterflycharlie November 6, 2008 at 7:36 pm #

    Mmmm……sleeping!! :-)

  2. Liz November 6, 2008 at 7:44 pm #

    You can prepurchase your tix NOW? I did not know this. I think I’ll be dorky as well.

  3. Kyla Bea November 6, 2008 at 11:14 pm #

    You pre-purchased for Twilight?? Oh my gosh. Amazing. I’m in.

    I know what you mean about the fog – a lot of the time I feel like that, my biggest trick is to not go out socially more than 3 times a week. I’m lame, but it really kills me to go out more than that, and with a house & puppies I need my me time!

  4. imogenc November 7, 2008 at 11:02 am #

    I only wish, Twilight would come our way sooner…So, I’m definitely not one to judge ;)

    As for your recent elections, I too am over the clouds. I’m positive we’re all gonna be so much better off for it. And…it was, indeed, about time…

Leave a Reply

