A new addiction…

9 Nov

Crate & Barrel.
TDH and I went there today so he could purchase a new bookshelf. I walked out with three vases (green, blue, orange), mini muffin pans (silicone, of course) and four ramekins (I found a new recipe that calls for ramekins specifically) and with a new addiction. I mentally spent over $1000 in about, oh, 30 minutes.

I also got really excited at Target yesterday and bought, thanks to my obsession with penguins, the cutest penguin salt & pepper holiday shakers. And four appetizer plates with the words “joy,” “merry,” “cheer,” and “wish,” written on them very festively. It’s not even post-Thanksgiving and I’m ready for my Christmas tree. Crazy, I know.

I’m also thrilled because after three months here I finally have my paintings, mirrors and other artwork hung all through my apartment (thanks to TDH and his handy picture hanging set). It feels like a real home.

Now to ponder which Christmas cards I’m going to buy…

3 Responses to “A new addiction…”

  1. Imogen November 10, 2008 at 2:11 am #

    Hmmm. We don’t have any of those places, here in Greece so I can’t really undertand you but -boy do- I sympathise…I get like that in shops too :)

    I’m all ready for my Xmas tree too (absolutely LOVE the holiday season)! In fact I think I’m bound to have it up by mid-november, at the latest. I mean, if you’re gonna take the time to put it up, you might as well have at least a month to revel at its fabulousness, right?

    Glad you have your new home all sorted out. It gives me hope. I moved to my place about a month and a half after you and am still missing many of those bits and pieces that make it trully cosy and warm. I was getting slightly discouraged, but now (bless you) I know I’ll get there eventually…

    Have a great week!

  2. Little Miss Obsessive November 10, 2008 at 10:42 am #

    Aw, my Mom is obsessed with Penguins too! lol So after her surgery my sister and I went to Build a Bear and built her a penguin – it is so freakin cute. I should send you the pic.

    I should go look at the Penguin shakers.. she might need to have those! heh

  3. laylou November 10, 2008 at 11:38 am #

    Imogen: Probably better there is no Crate & Barrel in Greece. They have so much stuff for home/kitchen/bath/decorating in a range of prices. It’s all so great and now all I can think about is when I can go back and buy more stuff!?

    Little Miss: Penguins are the best. The shakers are super reasonable in price ($2 per, I think) and can be winter salt & pepper shakers since they don’t have any christmas garb on them. I’ve never had a Build A Bear penguin… a hint for TDH perhaps? :)

Leave a Reply

