Playing Grown-Up

10 Nov

Do you ever have those moments where you realize that you are living a grown-up life? You feel responsible, like you’re living a well-planned, yet slightly spontaneous lifestyle?

That was this weekend for me. TDH and I always have a great time together, but like with any relationship, there are moments that are just plain better than others. Friday evening I threw together (okay, threw = two weeks of planning) a surprise party at one of TDH’s favorite places in the StL, and subsequently the home of our fourth date. Of the 16 who confirmed attendance, 12 showed up, and we had a private room with a pool table and darts all to ourselves. TDH’s friends bought him endless amounts of drink and we had an amazing time. The girls sat in one corner and chatted about everything: wine, living with men, girls’ nights (lack thereof), weekend plans, dogs, high school stories. The men played pool, took shots, threw darts (poorly), and occasionally came over to kiss their leading ladies.

Saturday, and part of Sunday, TDH and I spent the day at Bed, Bath & Beyond, Target, and Crate & Barrel. TDH is in the middle of a massive bathroom update, courtesy of his fantastic parents, which means he’s in the mood for a complete renovation of his entire condo. I will say during the deciding moments of which diffuser to purchase, which bathmat would look better, we had a “light saber,” match with some rolled up bamboo mats in the rug section. And we danced around the store to the music more than once. I suppose we aren’t complete adults….

Saturday night we (mostly me) cooked dinner for four of our friends who we seldom see. We had wine. Listened to jazz. I made appetizers, lasagna, salad, all served with a fabulous bread. Dinner parties seem so adult to me… in a good way.

Last night we had an impromptu pizza and “The Office,” night with TDH’s sister and her husband, both who are hilarious, super happy people. The warming moment: his sister was still her in PJs when we arrived. She told me that since TDH and I are “family,” she didn’t mind. FAMILY! Yeehaw, she really likes me.

I feel like I’ve arrived in my life. I am comfortable in my skin. I am enthusiastically happy. It feels great. It’s taken me some time and lord knows not all of them good, but I can’t get over how fortunate I am. I get better with each day at learning how to enjoy the positive, the happy, the smiles, the butterflies.

5 Responses to “Playing Grown-Up”

  1. Nilsa November 10, 2008 at 3:38 pm #

    You are in a good spot in life – it’s nice to see that you appreciate what you have versus focus on what you don’t.

  2. Little Miss Obsessive November 11, 2008 at 12:13 am #

    Aw sounds like a fabulous weekend. I’m so happy for you and where you are at in life. Your posts just scream happiness and it’s so nice to read about it. :)

  3. Imogen November 11, 2008 at 5:13 am #

    I’m so happy for you girl :)
    Not everyone finds that or gets there, in the end, you know…
    Cudos to you for having made it and may the brilliant times go on…and on…

  4. Kyla Bea November 11, 2008 at 11:55 am #

    Congrats on arriving! = )
    That’s an amazing feeling, enjoy it!

  5. SSG November 11, 2008 at 1:09 pm #

    Just found you blog, I think it’s cool! Sounds like a great weekend. I too am at that divide- doing something and feeling like an adult, yet wanting to hang onto some of the childish fun, and also wanting to grow up, but not wanting too have too much responsibility. Sometimes it’s hard, to want to go forward but to relish the past. To dress all grown up but want to dance to MC Hammer. And realising my mum was right about some things! Cool that you’re in a good place right now, it’s contagious!

Leave a Reply

