Things that make me go “ooo!”

11 Nov

The things that make me go “ooo,” and subsequently keep me from studying/focusing on my graduate school work:

  • NaBloPoMo. Most of the days my creative juices are flowing and then I can’t type the words fast enough. Other days I’m wracking my brain trying to come up with something remotely interesting, intriguing, worthy of reading.
  • Jack. He’s four and a half years now, and I swear, he acts like a 12 year-old dog. He has never been on more of a schedule than he is now. If I am not up by 7am he whines. If he doesn’t get breakfast the moment we get back in the door, he paces. When I get home from work, I barely have time to switch from three-inch heels to flats before he’s dragging me down the stairs. And if he doesn’t get his 9pm and 11pm walk? Lord save me from his nails clicking & clacking on the wood floors.
  • TDH. I mean this in the best way. I am now the dessert provider for family dinners every Thursday. He’s really great about coming to see me during the week and I always have every intention of studying when he’s over, but seriously, that doesn’t happen.
  • Felicity. Remember the tv show from a few years back? Well I made the mistake of Netflix-ing it, and now I’m hooked. I use it mostly as background noise for the nights I am alone at my place, but the plot isn’t bad and since I don’t know how it actually ends, I’m hooked. Bad idea.
  • Exercise. I renewed my gym membership. I’m running again. It feels great. The half-marathon in April seems daunting considering I still have some hip/back pain that I have to work on and work through, so we’ll see about that…
  • Sleep. Who doesn’t like sleep? If you’ve met me, you know that I don’t usually get up before 10am on the weekends and cat naps after work aren’t unheard of. I’m also trying to arm myself against the flu and etc that seems to already be floating around.
  • The Sicilian. I’m reading this book by Mario Puzo and it’s pretty fantastic. It’s hard to put it down.
6 Responses to “Things that make me go “ooo!””

  1. oh November 11, 2008 at 8:13 am #

    You gotta tell me how it goes with Felicity. I never saw the last season. Very curious.
    Interesting to note in another of your entries that you have fallen in love with Crate & Barrel. Hmmm… perhaps I should take another look at that store.

  2. anne November 11, 2008 at 9:15 am #

    oh felicity…. that show was an addiction back in the day.

  3. Little Miss Obsessive November 11, 2008 at 10:40 am #

    Ah I loveeeed Felicity!

  4. Nilsa November 11, 2008 at 1:00 pm #

    You live in the Lou? I’m originally from the Lou? I think we may need to discuss offline! Speaking of, are you considering the half marathon in St. Louis? I’ve always wanted to do it. Used to run marathons, but haven’t run more than 3 miles for a year or so. Decided a half marathon in the spring is the perfect reason to start training again. And the St. Louis one would be the perfect excuse to show my (new) husband my old stomping ground. Hmmmm…

  5. laylou November 11, 2008 at 1:39 pm #

    Oh: Seriously, C&B is excellent. We should go some time this holiday season.

    Anne & Little Miss: Your comments confirm what I was afraid of… I will have to continue the addiction.

    Nilsa: Yup, I’m a Lou-Girl (not born here, but mostly raised here). Running is my outlet so I figure it’s time to take it to the next level and get a half marathon under my belt.

  6. Imogen November 11, 2008 at 1:55 pm #

    “…If he doesn’t get breakfast the moment we get back in the door, he paces…”

    God bless him, Jack sounds so funny :D

    Can understand most of your other addictions, except for the gym one. Any way I can get hooked on that??? :P

Leave a Reply

