“Just Jack!”

14 Nov
Laying on my bed

Laying on my bed

Apart from my family, there are two leading men in my life: TDH and my furry friend, Jack.

The day I adopted him
The day I adopted him

To this day I still have no clue what kind of dog Jack actually is though I believe he’s a crazy combination of black lab, some sort of terrier, Border Collie, American Bull Dog and/or (gasp!) Pit Bull. I do know, however, that he’s one of the funniest, most adorable, loyal, flexible, happiest, energetic dogs I’ve ever met.

Jack adores his toys. So much so that yesterday morning he decided that “Frogger,” a classic toy I’ve repurchased for him since he’s been a puppy, had to come on our morning walk. Frogger dangled from Jack’s mouth for two blocks.
Jack also adores bedding. Since he was the only man in my life on a regular basis for the last four years, I spoiled him, albeit on accident. We cuddled. He slept next to me on the nights where my bed felt too empty. It does prove to be difficult when the man you are dating is not used to a 50 pound dog whose #1 obsession, besides his mom, of course, is jumping on furniture. Beds. Couches. Arm chairs.
Claiming "his" chair

Claiming "his" chair

Understanding TDH’s feelings and quite frankly being tired of sharing my bed and furniture with Jack and TDH, I purchased a dog bed for Jack on Tuesday. A bed is just a bed, right?

Much to my surprise Jack has slept through the night in his very own bed for the last two evenings. And while I study? He sleeps in his bed at my feet… with Frogger next to him. He does, so far as I can tell, hop on my couch and bed when I’m not home, but ignorance is bliss, right?

I will admit my bed has been lonely the last two nights with out the Jacksters cuddling up to me for warmth, but I think it’s for the best. TDH (and I!) deserve hair-free furniture and bedding. And Jack most certainly deserves his own bed and an endless supply of Frogger toys.

Treat? Treat! Treat?

Treat? Treat! Treat?

5 Responses to ““Just Jack!””

  1. brookem November 14, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    adorable pup!

  2. oh November 14, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    that’s our Jackers! great pictures. He’s such a baby, an adorable one. Looking forward to seeing him soon!

  3. Imogen November 16, 2008 at 4:20 am #

    Still no (human) boyfriend here, so I’ll sleep with my furry little cat love – Cross – whenever I can (he’s still living with my mum, while I’m trying to figure out a way to move him without any trauma)

    But yeah, you’re right, you and your Irish deserve a cosy, hair-less bed ;)

    Ps. Jack looks so happy now, compared to that adoption day pic. Which means you’ve been doing a good job… Kudos!

  4. SSG November 17, 2008 at 4:08 am #

    Jack is so, so cute. I want a pet now, it seems kinda comforting.

  5. laylou November 17, 2008 at 9:25 am #

    Brookem: Thanks for the note! He’s a great dog.

    Oh: Jack loves coming to visit you and the other doggie boys.

    Imogen:
    Thanks for the kudos. I never thought about the difference in Jack when I first adopted him vs the way he is now. He is most definitely a happy dog now. Isn’t it lovely to have a pet to cuddle with?

    SSG:
    Seriously, it is comforting to have a pet. Jack makes me smile at the exact moment I need one. He also knows when to cuddle, when to give kisses and etc. I highly recommend a pet if you have the time/means to adopt one!

Leave a Reply

