Who Invented Mondays?

17 Nov

Seriously, whoever invented Mondays is on my sh!t list. I suppose if we didn’t have a Monday, we’d still have a first day of the week but still. Monday. They inevitably stink no matter how much sleep you get, how great your hair looks, what outfit you chose to wear, the fact that you are loved by several people.

I knew my Monday would rock when I get a phone call from my office as I’m pulling into the parking lot at 8am because our Training Manager, who schedules our classes, didn’t know that we had a class today. Let me repeat that. Training Manager. Job = schedule classes. Didn’t know we had a class. That he scheduled. That I saw on his schedule.

Other things that I’m overcoming on this fine, cold Monday:

  • On top of that, we had no internet or email when I arrived. The Boss is out today which means other boss (Training Manager) is spastic and it is my fun job to keep him in check.
  • I got maybe three hours of sleep last night thanks to ridiculous nightmares that I kept having.
  • I feel unsettled and restless as a result of the lack of sleep.
  • I have five essays to write by Wednesday night for grad school. Rather than write them I would like to go tanning, dye my hair, go shopping, take a nap, buy my Christmas cards, watch a Christmas movie, make a really kick ass dinner for TDH, spend time with my friends and go to the gym.
  • I had to postpone a double-date with one of my best buds for this coming Saturday as TDH has plans with the boys that I forgot about and now she’s pissed off and canceled the other plans I had with her for girls’ night this week. She said she doesn’t want to reschedule since we never have corresponding free nights. Awesome.
  • One of my ex’s exes is here taking a class this week. She’s stopped by my desk twice to see how I’m doing. It’s not really a big deal but it’s kind of awkward.

I have no exciting weekend highlights to share other than:

  • margaritas with TDH on Friday (very good idea until I woke up Saturday morning… then very bad)
  • A conversation with TDH about living together
  • a so-so wedding reception we attended on Saturday which lead to me drinking four glasses of wine, pictures in a photobooth, nasty looks from his friends that are girls = a very uncomfortable Nora, and conversations about what our wedding would like (current idea: Italian wedding, Irish honeymoon. Fair compromise I say)
  • James Bond & pizza with my family and TDH yesterday evening, which was actually quite fun
  • Much needed cuddling with my man. Last week was a whirlwind and we didn’t see each other until 9pm on Thursday followed by a weekend that flew by much too quickly. I love seeing other people, going to parties, hanging with family and etc, but I need a healthy dose of “us,” time on occasion, especially to get me through the week.

So, whoever invented Mondays should definitely stay away from me until the mood clears and I can inject some caffeine directly into my veins.

8 Responses to “Who Invented Mondays?”

  1. imogenc November 17, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    Oh honey…I’m sorry you had such a bad start to the week :(

    Sounds like you had a cool weekend, though (ok, hangover not withstanding)…

    I was working Saturday, but had today off (Thank God!) -since the 17th of November is a holiday for schools & Universities where I come from. Nothing exciting, just taking it easy and storing up on rest for the upcoming (rough) work week.

    Hope tomorrow turns out to be a much brighter and happier day for you ;)

  2. a0m0y7 November 17, 2008 at 11:26 am #

    Since I work everyday there is no start to my week, but I still dont like Mondays…good news my hair still looks great, but only because I really worked on it last night.

    I am new to your blog, so it looks like I have a lot of cool reading to do.

  3. butterflycharlie November 17, 2008 at 12:50 pm #

    Agreed. Monday’s are officially rubbish!!

    As for ‘Chavs’, I guess in a way it’s the equivalent to ‘white trash!’ They are a horirble breed of louts. Here’s how you would look out for them should you ever come to England…

    1) They wear Burberry hats and scarves, tracksuits, loadsa chunky gold jewellery (both men, women and children of all ages)
    2) The men (oh, and women. Oh, and children) are all really loud and foul mouthed, swearing at each other at the tops of their voices regardless of where they are
    3) Like to beat people up, hang around on the streets and get drunk, aggressive, petty criminals, live off of welfare, proudly collect ASBOS (anti-social behavioural orders, courtesy of the government)
    4) Drive around in cars that they’ve souped-up with spoilers, LED lighting, tinted windows and a heavy sound system
    5) They start fights with pretty much anyone and everyone
    6) Low IQ
    7) The girls of all ages wear more makeup than you thought was humanly possible
    8) They have at least 3 kids by the time they are 18 who they let run riot and then scream names like “bitch” or even “cunt” at them

    Nice, huh?

  4. Scarlett November 17, 2008 at 2:19 pm #

    I hate Mondays too. Actually, throw Tues-Thurs in there as well :)

    Love your blog!

  5. laylou November 17, 2008 at 2:46 pm #

    Imogen:
    Thanks. It’s kind of getting better. I’ve wrapped my head around the messes and created action plans which is how I survive around here :)

    Amy:
    Welcome! If you have a blog, please share your URL. Would love to check out your writing.

    Butterfly Charlie:
    What a great description you gave. Definitely paints the picture for me. I will watch out for chav’s on my next trip over to England.

    Scarlett:
    Welcome! I agree with you, most days of the week stink unless they are Friday!

  6. Nilsa November 17, 2008 at 3:01 pm #

    But but but … without shitastic Mondays, you’d never reach Tuesday and therefore BlogSecret wouldn’t be. How sad is that? Can you tell I’m completely ignoring today because I’m so excited for tomorrow? =)

  7. Byron November 17, 2008 at 3:14 pm #

    Holy poo. That sounds like my first job out of college. Phones never worked. Internet was always done and when I had to fax… well, let’s just say I could have flown it to London to give it to the other office before a fax would go through. Sigh… my first job out of college… how I miss… um… no I don’t.

  8. SSG November 18, 2008 at 5:31 am #

    WOAH there! Your Monday has certainly not got off to a good start, but your weekend sounds cool. Hope today is much, much better. And it’s only a day, it can’t last more than 24 hours…

Leave a Reply

