The Bag

20 Nov

It’s no surprise that I fauxcohabitate (stole the phrase from ScarlettOffCourse) with TDH on a fairly regular basis. Usually the marathon fauxcohabitation begins on Thursday and runs through Sunday night (and no, we do not hang out with only each other during those days). Mondays and Wednesdays we usually do our own thing and Tuesdays get us through the “oh my gosh, I can’t not see you for three days!” situation.

Depending on the weekend’s plans, we’ll pick my place or his so that we eliminate driving, gas expenditure and etc as much as possible for both of us. Lately we’ve been staying at his place a lot. Which is not a problem at all because TDH has a great condo, he really does. Well-decorated. Doesn’t smell like gym socks. It’s pretty clean considering. The only drawback? The BAG.

That’s right, I said THE BAG.

I have to decide what I’m going to wear for the next four days and nights. I have to pack thongs (work clothes, you know), boy shorts (much better for sleeping in than thongs), sleep clothes, workout clothes, work clothes, fun clothes, at least five paris of shoes/heels since I never know what I’ll be in the mood for, jewelry for each outfit, make-up, hair dryer, flat iron, lotion, face wash, bras, books, things to keep me busy when TDH geeks out and plays video games, Jack dog food, Jack dog bed, Jack dog toys, warm winter gloves, scarves, hat, school stuff, work stuff… and I think that’s it.

In case you didn’t know, I’m a Libra. And apart from the obsessive event planning I do in my life, I can’t make a decision to save my life, especially about what outfit I’m going to want to wear on Sunday. Or what book I’ll want to read. Or which earrings I’ll be wearing.

And THE BAG gets heavy with all of those things I mentioned. At first I used my really awesome rolling suitcase but I can’t fit everything I need in there. So now I use a huge duffle bag, my messenger bag for school stuff, my laptop case for work stuff, and then Jack’s things just float around in my car.

Oh, and did I mention that THE BAG then sits in the middle of TDH’s dressing room for the duration of my stay? I’m sure he loves that.

I do leave a few things there: mini-shampoos, hairspray and other toiletries so I don’t have to haul them around, a sweatshirt, some bobby pins and etc, but nothing major. His parents, while they probably know I stay there, don’t really know and I don’t want to fall out of their good graces this early in the game so I don’t leave an excessive amount of stuff laying around his condo.

The whole BAG situation is really humorous to me. Mostly because when TDH comes over he only brings his work pants, work shoes and a shirt. That’s it. Must be so nice to be a guy sometimes.

If you ever see a girl who looks like a well-dressed bag lady, it’s probably me, headed to TDH’s.

5 Responses to “The Bag”

  1. Little Miss Obsessive November 20, 2008 at 11:49 pm #

    Good lord girl.. that is A LOT of stuff to be lugging around but totally understandable.. I mean, five pairs of shoes are needed of course! Plus, you don’t know what might come up and you need to be prepared.. that must get a little annoying though!

  2. SSG November 21, 2008 at 7:40 am #

    Man, I am such a bag lady… but everyday when I go to work- I cycle, and go to the gym, so have trainers, gym clothes, work clothes, work shoes, jacket, bike lights, lock, lunch, deodoratn, shampoo etc etc And this is all minamalist- some girls have their hairdryers, striaghteners, makeup- thats too much for me at work! Weekend yes- work no. It’s hard being a girl… so much stuff! and then timing waxing and hair washing and ironing… oooo

  3. laylou November 21, 2008 at 12:44 pm #

    Little Miss: I know, right? I try to be practical but experience has taught me that sometimes we’ll have plans and then we zig and wind up doing something totally different, hence the need for 20 different outfits!

    SSG:
    Glad I’m not the only one. It is a lot to carry around, right? Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad I have the opportunity to even complain about such a thing, but still. My arms are tired! (and in good shape) :)

  4. brookem November 21, 2008 at 12:56 pm #

    my manfriend and i always joke about “packing a bag.”
    there’s always a bag packed just in case… but yes, sooo much stuff for just even a day! what shoes? what undies?! what will be be doing?
    so. many. things. to plan!

  5. Scarlett November 21, 2008 at 2:35 pm #

    That is some serious baggage (har har har)…Lawyer always stays at my place (which is good and bad at the same time) and I think for Christmas I am going to clear out a drawer for him, tie a bow on it and stock it with some spare clothes, toiletries etc.

    I love that Jack gets to go…got to love a man that loves your dog, and that your dog loves!

Leave a Reply

