Mindless Monday

24 Nov

Random Side Note, first: Just a quick, cheesy note of thanks to all my readers both new and old. You have all brought me new perspectives on life, made me laugh and cry, and I’m thrilled to have virtually met many of you. I’m constantly amazed by what a great network of friends and caring the blogging community is! And, just a point of clarification, I am not moving in with TDH until mid-2009, assuming he formerly asks me at that point. I’m just working out my thoughts on it publicly. :) And now for Mindless Monday…

  • DTV. I finally bought one of the digital converters I need for the coming TV revolution. TDH hooked it up for me last night and I must say, I’m rather impressed. It comes with a guide, I get 11 channels total including some great PBS channels I’ve never had before which I’m actually excited to watch. Unfortunately one of my TV’s lost it’s DVD capabilites last week… fortunately I was able to salvage the Sex & The City DVD (Season One, Disc Two) that was in there. I’m contemplating purchasing an HD TV in early 2009, you know, if I have the money.
  • Twilight. Okay, I have to confess I LOVED this movie. I laughed. I cried like three times. Edward, though not what I pictured, was really great in his role. Bella is pretty perfect too. My only issues? They made the movie less serious than the book and toyed with my images of Bella’s friends. When the lights came on at almost midnight on Friday, I was ready to sit back and watch it again. And again. And again…
  • Joe-Joe’s Candy Cane Cookies. Go to Trader Joe’s immediately and purchase at least three boxes of the Joe-Joe’s (think Oreo) Candy Cane Cookies. They are amazing. All natural and deliciously pepperminty. My brother and I each bought three boxes of them on Saturday night.
  • Saturday night. TDH was busy being a super dork with his video game friends, so I hung out with my brother and then had some Greek food, wine and Sex & The City movie with one of my newer friends (a fiance to one of TDH’s best friends). We had a great time talking about weddings, movies, house updates, dogs, moving in, so on and so forth.
  • Thanksgiving! The day is fast approaching. I’m doing double duty (certainly not double-eating) by going to TDH’s family’s dinner and mine as well. Despite the fact I’ve met all his family, I’m still nervous. TDH says it’s just”coming over lunch.” Uh-huh. Sure. A big, fancy lunch on a national holiday.
  • Seven. Only seven days left in NaBloPoMo. My creative juices are starting to dry up a bit…I feel a complete lack of words coming on.
  • Things I would do if I had time/money freely available: hit the gym up every day; work on whitenening my teeth again; finally dye my hair; go tanning a few times; communicate a bit better with some friends who live afar; decorate my apartment more.
  • Dream. I had a dream early this morning that all the planes in the US were crash landing due to change in atmospheric pressure. I somehow managed to jump out of my plane with a parachute on my back and land on a rollercoaster. I recall the state of chaos in my dream, the loud noises from the planes landing and lots of screaming. Talk about a terrifying way to start a Monday morning!
6 Responses to “Mindless Monday”

  1. butterflycharlie November 24, 2008 at 4:22 pm #

    But eating double is what the holidays are about!!

    Unfortunatley i haven’t had the chance to do that the last few years what with xmas being hosted at my dads. We get a normal roast dinner followed by smiley face ice cream he stole from the school he works at! Thats it! No nibbles, snacks, seconds, seconds on dessert, no nothing :-(

  2. Little Miss Obsessive November 24, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    I really can’t wait to see Twilight, esp since you liked it so much!

    And don’t worry about Thanksgiving with TDH’s family – it will be great, I just know it!

  3. SSG November 25, 2008 at 5:52 am #

    woah that dream is a bit scary! I am very scared of rollercoasters but like watching from afar… think that would’ve been a nightmare for me! Thanksgiving… is it like Christmas without the presents? And Twilight… not heard of it, will have to check it out!

  4. oh November 25, 2008 at 7:06 am #

    I forgot about those Jo Jo peppermint cookies! Going there today or tomorrow – there had better be some left!

  5. Nilsa November 25, 2008 at 10:29 am #

    The question is, how much of those three boxes of cookies were left on Monday? =)

  6. laylou November 25, 2008 at 10:40 am #

    Butterfly Charlie: I suppose you are right; I graze a lot at my family’s house though, so I don’t think I can handle two doses of turkey and then manage to be fun on Thursday night.

    Little Miss: You will love the movie, I know it =)

    SSG: Thanksgiving is kind of like Christmas; the way I see it’s the Kick-off to Christmas season. We basically just eat a lot, express our thanks for the joys in our life, and laze around :)

    Oh: Don’t worry! they had a huge stack of them at the one in Brentwood. I can get you some if I need to!

    Nilsa: Actually, I have only had three cookies out of all the boxes so far. I hid them from myself so I am not tempted to stuff my face with them.

Leave a Reply

