Thanksgiving Tidings

26 Nov

Christmas is coming,
The goose is getting fat,
Please put a penny in the poor man’s hat.

If you haven’t got a penny,
A ha’penny will do.

If you haven’t got a ha’penny,
A farthing will do.

If you haven’t got a farthing
Then God Bless You.

(I was unable to find the author of this rhyme on the internet.)

No idea why I remember this little rhyme as well as I do, but I recall reciting just before (just after?) Thanksgiving with Darling. It always reminds me of the holidays when it randomly pops into my head.

So tomorrow is the big Turkey Day for those of stateside and a day of no consequential importance to my international blog-friends. I braved the crowds at the grocery store last night and after about an hour of shopping and standing in line (thank goodness for internet on my phone and cheesy gossip magazines at the checkout counter), I made it home with all the fixings my Thanksgiving contributions:

  • Spinach Artichoke Dip. So it may be different but my brother is a vegetarian now so besides stuffing, vegetables and potatoes I thought he’d like something different.
  • Lasagna Roll-Ups. Sounds like a kids food but is quite delicious. Spinach, ricotta, mozzerella cheese all mixed and rolled into one lasagna noodle, topped with pasta sauce. Delectable. Normally I use ground turkey for a hearty meat sauce but I’m obviously going to skip that for my little bro.
  • Cupcakes. Nothing fancy here, but my bro loves them, as do the rest of my family.
  • Peppermint fudge. This is a new recipe I’m trying and I’m super excited about it. I hope to have enough for TDH’s family and mine.

Another Thanksgiving Tradition I neglected to include yesterday: my parents have us go around the table and list a few things we are thankful for. It sounds cliche, I know, but it’s part of what we do. I have much to be thankful for this year. A short list:

  • My awesome support network. I would be lost without the core (my parents) and my very best friends.
  • Jack. Everyone needs an animal in their life for love and companionship so far as I am concerned.
  • TDH. You read all about it here, I don’t need to say more.
  • My health. I’ve had a few scares this year. I’m taking a moment for a public service announcement: girls- make sure to the “feel your boobies,” on a regular basis. Fortunately what I found is nothing of consequence or to worry about, but what a scare! I am so blessed to be able to afford health care, receive quality treatment for things like crooked hips and etc, and have the aforementioned support network to lean on if need be.
  • Gainful employment. You read the news. You hear the horror stories of lay-offs. I’m glad to have an office to go to each day.
  • My creative outlet (aka this blog). Thank you to all of my friends for reading, supporting, encouraging, caring!

Anything in particular you are thankful for this year?

Leave a Reply

