Post Turkey Coma

28 Nov

I survived my double-duty turkey day.

With little fanfare I met TDH’s other sister (the youngest), managed to drink four glasses of wine, survived a two-mile walk, dazzled everyone with my baking skills, made some awesome spinach artichoke dip, assisted Darling in the kitchen, tended to Jack (he’s sick again… he can’t resist any tidbit that falls on the floor!), eat two helpings of turkey, mashed potatoes, green beans, enjoy some vanilla caramel ice cream; stay coherent until TDH came over to vist with my family, wake up at 6 am this morning for shopping with Darling (no tramplings thank goodness), and then take a two hour nap upon our return home.

Highlights:

  • At TDH’s family dinner he told everyone he’s thankful for me. I had to hold back the tears.
  • My parents made the best turkey we’ve ever had by far. I can taste it right now…
  • My brother wasn’t very surly at dinner (he’s 20 and home from college, you know how that goes).
  • We had 55 degree weather all day.
  • I blasted “This Christmas” on the radio over and over and over again en route from TDH’s to my parents
  • I survived :)

Hope you all had a wonderful holiday!

2 Responses to “Post Turkey Coma”

  1. Kyla Bea November 29, 2008 at 10:11 am #

    Ha! I really enjoy you comment about your brother, I totally get that, and have been there recently myself.

    Glad you had a great time, and hope the Jack is doing alright!

  2. butterflycharlie November 29, 2008 at 2:13 pm #

    That all sounds really lovely and civil! I think you’re the only person I know who is capable of having a nice sedate festive family gathering. Everyone else I know can’t say they’ve had a proper holiday unless there’s been several arguments!

Leave a Reply

