As the snow falls…

30 Nov

Yes, we’ve had some snow here in the StL the last 24 hours. Jack always looks confused at the podwer falling from the sky and I enjoy the fact that I can have hot chocolate as much as I want.

Alright, I’m ready for the work week to start… kind of. Four days of rest, relaxation, sleep, planning, family time, and above all, Christmas decorations!

My tree is up (TDH helped).
My stockings are hung.
My manger is set-up in the front window.
The white lights are on my balcony and I’m planning to get some red ones to have a “candy cane,” look instead of just white.
My Christmas cards are 30% complete.
Jack’s dog bed smells pepperminty (had to wash it since he got pathetically sick in it the other night).

So while I’m not super excited to return to work tomorrow, three weeks of work and school and then I am off for TWO STRAIGHT WEEKS. I’m sure I’ll be bored after a few days of vacation, but I need the time off. The first time in over two years that my vacation has been a vacation and not a trip for a wedding!

Oh, and this is the last day of NaBloPoMo so there may be a hiatus for a few days. But don’t worry, I can’t (won’t) stay away for long!

10 Responses to “As the snow falls…”

  1. IZZY "The Artist" November 30, 2008 at 10:03 pm #

    Nice post!- enjoyed… hey check out my poem in the LIFE tag, blog feature….comment please,(its featured at the top if you click on the LIFE tag: http://wordpress.com/tag/life/

    Thanks-IZZY

  2. oh November 30, 2008 at 11:33 pm #

    Excellent work on NaBloPoMo! Bravo. You deserve a break. Yeah, tomorrow will be a reality check, but that’s cool. Looking forward to seeing your Xmas decorations, and thanks for your help on learning the html trick uploading pictures to the sidebar! You’re a genius.

  3. SSG December 1, 2008 at 4:25 am #

    well done on the nablopomo…. I wouldnt have the dedication! And I need a holiday too…. 2 weeks for me as well, from the 23rd! I think thanksgiving should be introduced in the UK, just so we have time to get ready for Christmas! First door on my advent calendar today, and I know it’ll all be open in no time!

  4. Little Miss Obsessive December 1, 2008 at 8:55 am #

    I love Christmas time but I have a rule that I make myself wait until after Thanksgiving passes before I start playing the Christmas music and getting really excited – So the time is now here and I’m pumped! My Cubie and I are actually decorating our cube today all festive… yay!

    Congrats on completing NaBloPoMo – you did awesome!

  5. Scarlett December 1, 2008 at 8:58 am #

    Ahh you are so far ahead of me, decorating-wise!! I still have to get out my tree. This is particularly pathetic since my tree is inflatable and all I have to do is plug it in. It is the only option that doesnt have my cat eating ornaments or batting them everywhere. Sigh.

    LOVE the red and white light idea!

  6. Kyla Bea December 1, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    Oh wow! You’re in high gear! If it wasn’t for Mister we wouldn’t have any decorations at all, but thanks to him we’re starting to get in gear too. Good work on the Christmas cards! Hope the season is relaxing as well as productive!

  7. Liz December 1, 2008 at 10:55 am #

    I finished my Xmas cards last night. Still need to get them in the mail today though.

    Hooray for vacation!

  8. She She December 1, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    Wow. You’re set up for Christmas already? I am so impressed. I need a few days to get over the last holiday.

    And thanks for the bloggy award! I’m going to post a thank you and pay it forward tomorrow.

  9. laylou December 1, 2008 at 12:59 pm #

    SSG: I have my advent calendar too, thanks to Darling. I’m excited about it!! Bonus since mine has chocolate in it, not that I need it… but still!

    Little Miss: I wish I had a spot in the office to decorate. My desk is in a huge open spot where everyone can see so I don’t get to do that. Enjoy the festivities!

    Scarlett: Yup, tree is up. It’s an easy fake tree that has hinges for most of the branches, so I let ’em down, fluff ’em up and we’re good to go. It’s also a skinny tree and is only 6 ft tall so I don’t have tons of decorations i have to put on it :)

    Kyla: Yes, that’s me. Miss High Gear. I am not sure why I love Christmas so much, but I do. I get all giddy for it. Hence the High Gear. Plus with it being so dreary I need something fun in my apartment to cheer me up!

    Liz: You have your cards done!? I’m glad to know I’m not the only early bird when it comes to Christmas cards! Congrats to you.

    SheShe: Yes, I know, ambitious right? You are very welcome, you definitely deserve it. I really love reading your blog!

  10. Callina Wood December 4, 2008 at 12:05 pm #

    Hey; just found your blog via Ashley’s post at Our Little Apartment today…just wondering if you live in St Louis or if there’s another StL I’m not aware of :) I live in Columbia MO so I’m not far off.

Leave a Reply

