NaBloPoMo Created a Blog Monster!

2 Dec

Tidbit Tuesday

  • Learn how to spell. My graduate school professor returned our last week’s essays via email to us yesterday evening. On my commentary he wrote “faboulaous.” I assume he meant fabulous!? Or perhaps he meant it more like “faaabbulous, darling, absolutely faaabbulous.” Either way, I laughed write out loud at the fact that my Graduate Level Business Law professor doesn’t know how to spell fabulous.
  • Baby, it’s cold outside! I woke up this morning around 6 am to a pitch black apartment. Normally this wouldn’t be odd since I don’t sleep with any lights on, however, there was no hum of my refrigerator. No green blinking light off my DSL wireless device, no clock. The power was out. And when the power went out, my pilot light went out (I assume, since the heat was on at 1am when I finally fell asleep). I threw open wide all the blinds in my place so it can soak up the sun and warm Jack while I’m at work and fortunately TDH will be to the rescue this evening to relight the pilot.
  • Ugly Sweater time! I have two ugly Christmas Sweater Parties to go to this year. One with my friends, the other including TDH’s friends. The concept is gaining popularity around the U.S. and isn’t quite as unique as it once was, but it’s still a good time. Time to go hunting for an ugly Christmas sweater.
  • Gram is coming to town. I neglected to post about this when I first found out but my Gram is moving to StL. Permanently. She’s got a great studio type apartment at a local retirement community (not assisted living) and she arrives tomorrow. She’ll be staying with Darling & The Boss while she eagerly awaits the movers with her things and then she’s on her own. I’m kind of nervous about the change since we’ve never had her in the same city full-time, but I’m also excited about the possibility of reconnecting with her, learning more about her life, and enhancing my already fabulous family.
  • Chairs! I finally have chairs for my dining room table at my apartment. It’s only been four months. TDH and I had an inaugural Italian feast on Sunday night at said table and it was pretty grand. Oh, and the flowers TDH sent me two weeks ago? Still totally alive, fresh and looking like they were delivered two days ago. Crazy beautiful!
5 Responses to “NaBloPoMo Created a Blog Monster!”

  1. Little Miss Obsessive December 2, 2008 at 12:04 pm #

    I love Tidbit Tuesdays :) … and what is with Ugly Sweater Christmas parties? I’ve never heard of such a thing until this year (and I only read about them on blogs ha) Maybe it’s because none of my friends really have Christmas parties (prob since we are all still living at home) but is this a new trend or have I been living under a rock?!

  2. butterflycharlie December 2, 2008 at 12:49 pm #

    ugly sweater parties?! what a good idea!!

  3. Nilsa December 2, 2008 at 1:54 pm #

    Not only does your professor not know how to spell, but … they forgot to use spell check, too. I kinda hate that. It’s so lacking in the professional department.

  4. myboyfriendisapirate December 2, 2008 at 9:13 pm #

    I don’t know if you can get Christmas sweaters in Ireland… and if you can, I’m not sure that I want to be the only person wearing one! GREAT idea for party though, nothing better than dressing like an idiot and having a few drinks.

  5. SSG December 3, 2008 at 3:20 am #

    Ugly christmas sweaters? You mean like big knitted jumpers your great aunt gives you? and you, err, swap them?
    Think my friends and I might be having a swap party after Christmas, so any unwatred gifts or sale clothes we can swap with each other!

Leave a Reply

