Ugly Christmas Sweater: Defined

3 Dec

Ugly Christmas Sweater Party, Year 1

ugly-sweater-1

I was accused of looking too cute for this party.
The premise of Ugly Sweater Parties is that you go to a Goodwill, Salvation Army, etc store (any store that has second-hand goods for sale), find the ugliest sweater you can, preferably related to Christmas/winter theme and wear it to the party. Ugly Christmas Sweater Party Year 1 there was no swapping or twists. Only copious amounts of food, beer pong tournaments, flippy cup, vodka shots with a splash of jello and lots of loud music.

Ugly Christmas Sweater Party Year 2:
uglysweater2

This year we were to bring an ugly sweater that was wrapped. The gift-wrapped ugly sweaters were arbitrarily assigned to someone else at the party. One by one we changed into whatever sweater we got and then had to parade in front of everyone else, like a fashion show. Notice that I bought an Ugly Sweater Headband to match. My friend TLo, not pictured but standing next to me in this picture, had one as well. She got a very hideous 1980s pink ribboned sweater to wear. Last year there was another beer pong tournament, RockBand tournament and flippy cup. My friend and I left early since there was about six inches of snow on the ground that we had to battle to get home in. This particular party is also when I discovered that the guy I was dating at the time was an alcoholic. It was quite the evening.

The plan for Ugly Christmas Sweater 3 coming in less than two weeks: find the ugliest sweater possible. Upon arrival you will be set up into groups. Whoever has the least ugly sweater is considered the loser of the group and must take an alcoholic shot as determined by the winner of the group you are in. The winner moves on to the next “group,” until there is a winner. Again, there are prizes. (It should be noted that the prizes are usually crap our friend has cleaned out of his basement. Kind of funny.) I will post pictures after the 13th and then again on the 20th.

Now for TDH and I to find the ugliest sweaters we can…

14 Responses to “Ugly Christmas Sweater: Defined”

  1. goodbadandugly2 December 3, 2008 at 11:13 am #

    Thanks for the laugh!

  2. She She December 3, 2008 at 12:34 pm #

    You can’t imagine my relief to find that you’re not wearing any sweaters that I actually own.

  3. Kyla Bea December 3, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    #1 – You’re too cute!!
    #2 – I have been thinking about having an ugly sweater party this year – I love the idea, it looks like I would be able to glean some tips from you!

  4. racheliza December 3, 2008 at 3:32 pm #

    yesssss. and seriously? the pink one you’re in? way too cute for an ugly sweater party!! :)

  5. butterflycharlie December 3, 2008 at 5:29 pm #

    yeah i quite like the pink one and it really suits you! But thats what you get for being pretty; you could wear a garbage bag and make it look good!

  6. oh December 3, 2008 at 8:54 pm #

    I agree with others; pink looks good! But nah, don’t like the blue one. I think I’d better go clean out my closet – I have the feeling that several of mine are either UGLY or just plain old. I think it’s time for some shopping!

  7. SSG December 4, 2008 at 4:42 am #

    hahah quality pictures! Looking forward to the next lot! And we dont have parties like that here, no beer pong (?) flip cup (?) or rock band. And my flat is the size of a garage, no joke. And I mean a British garage, fitting one car, in case you have huge garages over there! Ok, distracted, I actually kinda like the first jumper!

  8. Nilsa December 4, 2008 at 7:46 am #

    You were definitely TOO CUTE that first year. Glad they’ve changed things up to encourage you bringing out the ugly. Can’t wait to see pictures this year!

  9. brookem December 4, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    ha, i love it!

  10. Little Miss Obsessive December 4, 2008 at 8:20 pm #

    aw, even in ugly sweaters you look pretty. :) I need to either go to one of these parties or have one myself – they sound pretty fun!

  11. nova December 5, 2008 at 8:05 am #

    Awww… you are so lovely that even an ugly sweater looks gorgeous on you.

    What I love the best, are the smiles that you wear.

  12. Carla December 7, 2008 at 10:51 am #

    Do you happen to know from what season of Everybody Loves Raymond comes that episode with Debra dropping the turkey on the floor?

    Thanks either way.
    Carla

  13. Scarlett December 8, 2008 at 10:28 am #

    That shade of pink is cute on you!

    Good luck finding outfits. I have wondered, with the immense popularity of these parties if it has become way harder to find ugly sweaters? But then I think about the 80s/early 90s and figure there should be plenty to go around!

    And I totally want to hear the story about uncovering the alcoholic.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ugly Christmas Sweater: Defined « Walking through the Rain - December 3, 2008

    […] This particular party is also when I discovered that the guy I was dating at the time was an alcoholic. More here […]

Leave a comment